Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Inner Tubes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve

Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve

Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Review 1 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haribo64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Will buy again

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having been plagued by punctures riding through the local woods I thought these might be worth a try. Since fitting I have not had a single puncture. I haven't noticed any difference in weight or performance. I wish I had given them a try before.
Also, very quick service from Evans and acceptable price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bighair1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Bit expensive

PostedApril 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bought this 'cos I needed it quick. It does the job OK but is far more than other similar products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mozzy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Not impressed

PostedApril 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, didn't do what it said it would do.
It lasted one week. I had two thorns stuck in my tyre, the first of which was fine and the slime reacted, the second resulted in a flat tyre (no slime). Both thorns were the same size too. I won't be buying them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwayscycling
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Works really well

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I got a massive thorn through my tyre but this inner tube stayed up, the only reason I discovered the thorn was when I decided to change my tyres. Might be slighly heavier than a normal tube but this is outweighed by not getting caught out in the cold when off road having to replace a punctured tube!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
01010101010101

Buy them!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I haven't had one flat since fitting these tubes. I have even smashed my rear wheel on the front edge of curbs and walls twice with badly timed bunny hops, and felt the wheel rim whack into the stone (this used to mean an instant pinch flat within seconds). With these tubes the tire stays inflated and I just carry on cycling. I'm amazed how good they are.
I ride single track around South Wales and commute to work. I used to regularly get puncture flats too, and I would constantly have to fit new tubes. These are amazing value for money and I trust them - I don't have to worry about flat tires anymore.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SouthD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Self sealing tube

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Good quality and long stem valve also good on Presta version. Works so far with no flats. Weight is a bit of an issue but until I convince myself to spend on setting up tubeless then these are a good compromise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
linc1967
from Cheshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, reliable
Cons: Heavy
They work very well. I have two installed on my commuting bike and both have managed to repair a good number of punctures. I have even found reasonably big shards of glass in the tyres that haven't successfully managed to ruin my day.
The tyres only ever need topping up if they lose a bit of air or to be spun for a moment or two to get the sealant flowing.
Absolutely perfect for a commuter or those that plain old don't care about weight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShortStuff2
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Would use anything else

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've been using Bontrager self sealing inner tubes for a few years now. I cycle to and from work everyday (20 miles) along the Leeds/Liverpool canal, which is sometimes littered with glass and items people have just dumped. As long as you keep pedaling when the tyre has been punctured, this inner tube will reseal itself.
When I finally had to change my last inner tube, it had fifteen puncture marks in it that had self sealed. That's what I call value for money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
TonyE
from Blackpool
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Did not work

PostedApril 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
It failed to seal a puncture caused by a regular thorn.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MRReview
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Adieux flats!

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Faultless so far.
I run these off road with Maxis ignitor XC.
I switched to these from standard continental tubes. Pinch flats have stopped.
I would usually of expected one flat per ride. (ex downhill rider switched to XC) I ride off road in South Wales and europe.
I'm not concerned by the extra grams in weight and I certainly haven't noticed any change in handling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AndyMC
from East Yorks
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Probably expecting too much

PostedJuly 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Only had it fitted for a couple of rides and hit a small inch long pin. The tyre went flat within seconds. Will try other forms of puncture avoidance
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
b033y
from Doha, Qatar
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It didn't work for me

PostedJune 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, doesn't work
I had a puncture from a small nail after a week but the slime did not seal the hole. I have to replace with new tube since repairing the puncture in the field is no longer practical because the green slime contaminating the it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keelar
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

One less headache

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
With the lovely crop of potholes from the winter still much in evidence, and if you're slightly short of the cash to buy tyres with a bit more beef, this could be just the thing to solve your puncture problems.
It's a simple fit, and thus far (touching wood - so to speak) I have been punctureless. Since I'm using the bike to and from work every day, knowing that I'm a little less likely to encounter a serious puncture makes all the difference.
Certainly one to fit to your bike, folks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
offroad
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

does the job nicely

PostedApril 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
ok, without being patronising, my wife is not a big fan of punctures, and even less of puncture repairs.
So I swapped her tubes for these, and since then we can both enjoy mountain biking, which is what it is all about isn't it?!
Quality Bonty stuff that does what it is supposed to do. And not noticeably heavier than normal tubes. Buy some and enjoy riding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spudlord
from manchester
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

does the best job at curing punctures but heavy

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
i have not had one puncture whilst running these which is awesome but they do weigh you down i recomend these for;
commuters
people who ride skate parks which may have glass
people who ride street mtb
riding abroad where thorns are a problem
touring
so they arent a race tyre but for those where weight isnt a problem these are a perfect sure
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
funknyuyao
from Yuyao, PRC
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

excellent product

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I ride in areas that have a lot of metal shavings on the roads (from falling off the recycling trucks) so I used to get about one flat a day. With these tubes it is down to about 1 flat every week. Upside is small flats seal automatically. Down side is when you do get a flat and it is serious the green slime comes shooting out of the tyre/tube and is sticky mess to work with. Tubes cannot be patched in the field, need to get home and use a vise and let sit for a few hours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
farmertombob
from Gloucester
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Trouble free preformance

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I've had a pair of these tubes for almost a year now. I keep swapping them in and out (i have a slick set of tyres that need different tubes) and have had no problems.I've done a fair amount of offroading with them, and cringed when I thought i had ridden over something that would give me and puncture many times, but still yet to get a puncture... touch wood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Self Sealing Tube 26 Inch Presta Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
baldalex
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

at last, pucture free riding

PostedDecember 2, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought a pair of these just before i went on a down hilling holiday last year because it was all evans had in stock at the shop for my tyre size.
while riding i heard air coming out of my tyre but kept going and sure enough no puncture.
they add a lot of weight to your wheels but small price to pay really.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.