Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre

Specialized The Captain Control Tyre

Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chiranger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great rear tyre

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I replaced the Schwalbe Racing Ralphs on my Giant Athem with the Captain Control on the rear and a Specialized Purgatory Control on the front. The combination seems to work really well, and I had my best run ever at Dalby using this combination. Great traction, good control around the sweeping corners and nice cushioning meant I always felt in control and wasn't battered at the end of the red route.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjsmke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great Fast tyre for dry and damp conditions

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, long lasting
I used these through the spring and so far this summer. The tread in the centre provides a fast rolling surface and wears slowly. They come up quite large for a 2.0" tyre compared to other brands. Overall great tyre for dry, loose, and even damp conditions. I run them front and rear. On some wet rides i left one on the rear and it still performed well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikell
Country:Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent grip

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good grip with mud and stones.
It is a very good tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul43Teach
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

A good tyre with plenty of grip

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I been through many specialized tyres and all have been great value and have had excellent grip. This is a good tyre, however if it get's very muddy, (we all know what the Downs are like in the winter), then grip is greatly reduced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ducatiboy67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After ordering these items online,they came very quickly.i received a email to say they had arrived in the shop at Spitalfield,and I picked them up later that day and I fitted them myself in the shop with the help of the staff.Great service and help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finchplops

very nice tyre

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Having just spent 5 days riding in the alps under all conditions, very rocky/loose, sandy, wet and rooty this tyre has come through excellently and with NO punctures. I spent weeks leading up purchasing these looking at reviews and recommendations before finally just going for a tyre, and I am very happy I went with these. If your after a mid ranged tyre that will stand up to lots of punishment and still take more get these, you won't be disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rustytank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great combo with Storm Control

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: wet ++, roots ++
When used on the back with Storm Control on the front this is an excellent XC tyre in all conditions but especially remarkable in the Wet. Always gives confidence. Not too bad rolling resistance so you can keep it on in the summer.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phil371

its a tyre

PostedMarch 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its quite early to review a tyre when just purchased we will see how it lasts. So far its not been too noisy and grips well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andy248

Good quality, good price.

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Goes on great. Good tread. Suffers slightly on thick mud but can be expected. Great quality. Definitely worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shazz73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

nice lightweight tyre for offroad riding

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The captain is indeed a leader in terms of offroad performance. Lovely lightweight tryre thanks to the Kevlar beading with great tread pattern than can cope with most offroad terrains.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
N00rds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good all rounder.

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: does not shed mud
Used this tyre at many mtb centers for over a year and no punctures. Performed well in all conditions except mud , the tyre does not like to shed the sticky stuff meaning next to no grip in mud if you are not careful.
Otherwise i would certainly use this tyre again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PH127
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

BEST FRONT TIRE GOING AROUND

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
If your looking for a tire that holds its line and a tire you can have total confidence in then the specialized captain is the one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JNeail
from Solihull
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Good tyres, but I think they need time..

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: not as grippy as hoped, struggle in dry dusty/stoney conditions
Purchased these to replace and improve on the factory fit Specialized Fast Track tyres fitted to my Rockhopper SL 2010 - I gotta say they look better, but as yet have made things a bit slippy especially over stones and cobbles on hard dry pack routes. I'm guessing they need to bed in a bit as I'm initially a bit dissapointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sofabum
from Hove
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Got my confidence back again

PostedJune 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Put one of these bad boys on the front and a spesh control on the back. Superb control and low rolling resistance. Got my mojo back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sportygirl
from Darlington
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

captain 2.0

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Came as standard on my fsr xc. Excellent for trails but a bit too much resistance for regular tarmac/light trail riding so I'm swopping them for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo tyres and will change back to the Captains when I'm heading to the serious trails
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kiwi
from Yorks
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Captain 2.2

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Wire bead non folding version
Bit heavier but cheaper than the model displayed here. I would happily buy the more expensive model considering my experience with this tyre. Its a big volume tyre i use for trail centres where I just want to hammer the trails. Also use them for rough offroad terrain where the extra volume soaks up the hits a bit more and the high volume casing gives noticeably better ground clearance than fast track 2.0. Not the best in mud but fast rolling, would actually rate it 4.5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tricky1

tyre

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The captain tyre is good on and off road and wears very well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MattL
from Berkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Great all-purpose off-road tyre

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, grips well, good puncture resistance when tubeless
Version used: 2.2
Grips very well in dry / intermediate / fairly wet conditions
Grip in deep mud isn't best, but not too bad (and clears pretty quick)
2Bliss works extremely well with Mavic UST rims (and fairly well with Stans 355)
Light for a UST tyre (I know it's not full-on compared to some, but it's durable enough for most purposes).
On hard-pack it's draggy compared to some fast-rolling XC semi-slicks (like Fast Freds) but grips much better and is about 1000 times more durable.
I'll continue to use this as my general-purpose off-road tyre until I find something better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikeerac
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Compromise Between Speed And Handling

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I got fed up with running an Eskar on the back of my 2005 Stumpjumper, as the tyre clearance didn't allow me to take the wheel off without letting the air out. Not good when you load the bike into the back of the car to hit the trails. I really wanted the confidence inspiring big tyre grip the Eskar but in a smaller width, which isn't really possible so a compromise was on the cards. I have used Specialized tyres for over five years now and am quite confident to stick with this brand as i know they will be reliable and good value. I went for the 2.0in version, which still has a good set of full height knobbles on the outside edge of the tyre to bite into the trail when leaning the bike over and a centre row of knobbles for good climbing grip and speed. The profile is generous so still has good shock absorbing properites. Fitting the tyre was a breeze and only needed a lever to get the last bit on. I now have an Eskar on the front and the Captain on the back, which i feel is a great compromise between speed and handling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized The Captain Control Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quade

PostedApril 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good all round XC tyre . Grip well on trails and roll nice on roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>