Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre

Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre

Overall rating:
4.853 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
67 out of 68(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
student
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tandem-tastic

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: soild
Bought for rear wheel on tandem bike, pay for what you get, worth the investment to reduce the risk of punctures.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DAYTONA1200
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

great allround tyre

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Had these fitted to my MTB for 4 years now and average around 40 miles a week. Still got plenty of tread, although I have swapped them around this year as the rear was showing more wear. Riding is 50/50 road and trail and have only had one puncture in that time.The only thing I could fault them on is appearance, the burgundy sidewall is ugly but a small price for a fit and forget tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weleasewodger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great product

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Excellent puncture resistance .gives you confidence to cycle almost anywhere .low rolling resistance .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Great Commuter Tyre

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these tyres as a commuter tyre for my MTB.
Having previously commuted on Panaracer Fire tyres, these Specialized tyres were a welcome break to the vibration and drag which I had been enduring with the Panaracers.
Having only used them for a few commutes so far, I can't comment on the Armadillo protection provided, but if it is any consolation, I have not experienced a puncture yet. :)
The tyres appear to be very well made, the tread pattern should provide some good grip in more off road conditions, but with a smooth area on the centre for on the road (if pumped up fully).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blunderwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good all round tyre

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, good all rounder
Tyres purchased to replace MTB specific tyre due to increased mileage on canal/bike paths whilst still undertaking mountain biking. Intention was to eliminate as much as possible rolling resistance on longer trips and these tyres certainly do that however this is most achievable on hard tarmac surfaces. Not tested in the rain/soft mud yet due to the strange phenomenon of a proper summer and obviously won't compete with proper MTB tyres on more heavy duty terrain however as an all rounder it is well worth considering this. Suspect I will have to swap back again for autumn and winter months. Seems relatively robust and would certainly recommend as a jack of all but master of none type tyre. Only real criticism would be that small stone chippings, of which there are many on the canal tracks I use, are frequently thrown up and hit the frame, not an immediate concern however over time this may damage paintwork to some extent?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eltangente
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought these to replace some very worn 4 year old (but notably only once punctured) armadillo road tyres. Specialized don't seem to make a set which would be an obvious replacement anymore, so I got these hybrids instead. At first impressions they appear as just a set of puncture proof mtb tyres, but the tread is divided to allow for minimum contact with the road on commuter journeys with side treads for grip on more aggressive terrain. For those in doubt these are well worth getting if you use a mtb to commute and xc/dh in equal measure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chillipepper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Product is obviously well made and performs well.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Performance on and off road is very good. Main off road use is forest roads and tracks. Puncture protection 10 of 10 to date.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danny321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: slightly heavier than i would have liked
I brought that product after reading through a few forums as it was suggested it would be a good tyre for the L2B off road bike ride.
The tyres itself was awesome, whilst other people were getting flats i had no issues at all, it didnt even enter my mind to be honest. After looking at the construction it would have taken something seriously sharp to find its way through.
No road noise, which was a blessing at it was more fire road than off road.
Probably not the best tyre for the event but thats hardly the tyres fault.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Speedy666
London
 
Please wait while more information about Speedy666 is loaded.
Additional information about Speedy666 could not be loaded.
Great tyres
Posted July 26, 2013
I bought these last week after my old tyres which came with my trek 7300 fx bike had a few punctures over the past few years. Though my tread has also worn down so decided these on the reviews. Expensive but so far no punctures over road and canal tow paths. Even I seem faster with these new tyres. Look good. Does the job. Fitted them without any problems myself. Took a few minutes to squeeze in.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SharkyDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is just the tyre I was looking for.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Around 2 years ago I put Specialized Armadillo road tyres on my 1995 mountain bike.
Having recently resumed moderate off road cycling, I was looking for a tyre that would still be quite fast on the road and smoother tracks and provide more grip on the climbs and gravel.
So far they are doing the job well and no punctures (as was the case with the road tyres).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joshyi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent quality great product

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I would highly reccomend these tyre's to anybody I cycle around 30 mile per day and found these great no puncture's yet, i have been riding them for a few week's now and love them a+++++ would also reccomend evan's as it's super fast delivery and great communication thank's guy's n gal's :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lupo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You get what you expect

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Early days and have only been using these for a few weeks on the daily commute (ca 75m a week) but so far so good, absolutely no problems. Typically go over roughish terrain and country lanes which with my previous tyres involved almost a dozen punctures in the last few months. These were less than a year old, a different brand and were supposed to be reasonably resistant but were beginning to suffer from odd stone cuts and had started to deteriorate. I had Specialized before which were very durable hence my return. Quieter than you would expect on the road and seem to run reasonably smoothly but my priority was increased resistance to punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Speedy321
London uk
 
Please wait while more information about Speedy321 is loaded.
Additional information about Speedy321 could not be loaded.
Great tyres
Posted August 30, 2013
Awesome tyres. Replaced my old worn out armadillo tyres. Ridden to work over the past month. Not one puncture yet. I use roads and tow path. So far so good. Didn't take too long to put them on either. Well worth the money. These will last for years.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

good purchase

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
all well so far with these tyres. had them 8 weeks and so far no punctures.
quick delivery from evans and no problem fitting tyres to wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigburci
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

forget about punctures

PostedJune 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Got this tyre about 5 weeks ago and since then, no punctures. Before, I used the original tyre which comes with the hardrock series and got like an avarage 3 flat tyre a week. First, I thought this is a bit expensive but now I saying its worth every penny. Great tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
motatamay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

awesome!!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
i have been running these tyres for three years now, and have not replaced them at all on front or rear wheels. I am using continental presta tubes which i do have to check every week for air loss as i am about 19 stone and i am ride quite hard as normal.
these tyres are big and they are chunky and i found them to be quite slow at first. but once you get used to them i would not buy anything else. i love this make of tyre that much i am running the 700x28's on my hybrid!!
really good buy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vic05
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bombproof tyres!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
These tyres are used daily on a 44 mile round trip, in all weathers and on varied road surfaces. That is also loaded up with heavy work clothing and boots on the rear carrier. The armadillo casing proves to be inpenetrable and has not failed yet. A year or more of this continuing commute has proven beyond doubt that the initial cost was money well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoundhayCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Completely solved my puncture problems

PostedMay 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I commute to work every day on inner city roads and was getting regular punctures which was very frustating. I replaced the tyres that were fitted on my Specialized bike when I bought it with a pair of Armadillo tyres and, around a year later, I have not had a single puncture.
The tyres are not as fast rolling on the road as the smoother ones I had on before, but they are reasonably good off road on tracks, trails etc, provided it isn't wet. I have seen some reviews saying they aren't easy to fit, but I had no problems with this, and as you only need to fit them once, it isn't an issue at all. Overall, I would highly recommend these tyres for commuting and general use if you want to avoid repairing any punctures again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olly31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all round tyre.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Originally I was cycling with knobbly mountain bike tyres that come with the Specialized Pro SL between road and off road, just ended up wearing them down. Decided to purchase these and they have been great for both road and rough terrain and also increase my speed when on the road. They look great on the bike to, unlike other slick tyres you put on a mountain bike and they look kind of ridiculous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simontigger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

good hybrid tyre, suprisingly low drag

PostedApril 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: good on road for hybrid
Been trying various tyres for a good hybrid bike all rounder, "premium" contis sucked with perished sidewalls after 8 months, specialised borough xc good but punctures, these have surpriingly low rolling resistance on road, good grip off, good all rounder, low drag on road compared to previous tyres. (700c x 38) ...and so far no punctures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ken259
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good so far.....

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had a puncture a week on the canal bank (hawthorn) before i bought these. Haven't had one in a month...........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JR48
from United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all-rounder

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I've been using these tyres over the last month on various rides including forest tracks, country lanes and London streets. Whilst the heavy tread offers firm grip in off-road conditions, it also produces surprisingly little resistance on sealed road surfaces. A true all-rounder which arrived promptly after ordering online.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>