Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre

Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre

Overall rating:
4.541 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
36 out of 37(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikerJohn
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great value tyre

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I think these tyres are the best on the market. my last set lasted me two years of every day cycling 40 minutes to and from work along a tow path. i would not put any other tyres on my mountain bike while cycling on roads or paths.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
looseend
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good commuting tyre

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Tough tyre, my previous one lasted a long time, and lots of bits of glass stuck in it that hadn't made it's way through the protection layer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rogerdodge4

Ideal for safe roadwork

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Armadillo name should tell you it has a tough outer skin so will not easily give way to punctures from the rubbish that is on our roadsides.
So far so good and still riding with confidence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BillyNoCar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Good solid tyre

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Firstly, I didn't realize the complex minutiae surrounding tyre sizes, but the helpful guy in the shop pointed me in the right direction. Basically, I am to be without a car for up to six months and as that cuts out any mountain riding, I decided to fit the Nimbus tyres to my Scott Spark 20 - bit of a waste I know, but needs must. As I was aiming to ride on roads, tracks, easy trails and canal paths, to try and maintain some level of fitness, I felt the added protection of the Armadillo was worth the extra cash. So far the tyres have performed well - they move comfortably between the different terrains and have a solid feel about it. The tyres are quiet, corner well and have a reasonable grip, even in the wet. Purchasing two tyres is not cheap, but, overall, they are a quality product that delivers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Great tyre

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great tyre for the price, ideal for commuting. Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brendon80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

hard shell seved me from the sabotage

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
These tyres where great to give me a little extra speed on a recent road race in the New Forest. The bullet proof inner also saved me from punctures as the locals sabotaged the ride with drawing pins. I'm very impressed with this kit and I fully recommend it. The staff helping me with my choice were top notch too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeD75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Solid but lightweight tyre

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this tyre three weeks ago and haven't even had to pump up the innertube since, never mind replace a flat (and I ride about 80 miles a week along busy roads). It feels very reliable and solid yet is also pretty responsive.
I only bought one at first but was so pleased with it that I got another to replace a Schwalbe on the rear wheel. Seems like I made a great choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cambola
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very smooth and quick

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought these to replace the stock tyres on my bike used for commuting, they make the ride much quicker and easier, so far no punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SDCR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Questionable resistance to punctures

PostedJuly 31, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, prone to punctures
Following recommendations I bought these in 700x28 to replace the stock tyres that came on my hybrid. The first couple of rides out were great as they have so much less rolling resistance than the stock ones had. In the first few weeks though of my short commute to work I was experiencing two punctures a wheel on average. Each were pinholes caused by small stones or fragments of glass piercing the tyre. I have since changed to Continental Travel Contacts with zero issues over many weeks. The Continentals are not as great to look at but that's a minor thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GennerExcel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nimbus armadillo

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: grips well
Cons: Expensive
I recently bought this as a replacement for the last one also a Nimbus Armadillo also from Evans four years ago. The tread pattern on the new one is different which is possibly due to the fact that the rubber tread on the last came detached from the fabric holding it in place, hence the rating being low. Overall it is a pretty good tyre, although I have had some punctures in the old one it lasted well. What else can you say; its a tyre. Also how can you rate something so soon after purchase?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoneRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

4000 miles covered

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, very puncture proof, fast rolling
I am now buying my second set of these tyres after doing almost 4000 miles, mainly on road and on NCN cycle paths.
I have noticed lots of little cuts and bits in the tyres, if I'd been on any other tyre I would have had a load of punctures.
Got my first puncture last week after having these for just over a year. Which I think is amazing with all the miles I've covered! As most tyres will more than likely have a certain mileage before the manufactures say to replace them.
Amazing rolling speed, perfect for on road, NCN cycle paths, fireroads etc.
Quite tricky to change, being 1.5's but a little patience and force gets them off and back on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drglazz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
nimbus tyres are great for spring and summer use on roads and dry dirt paths,i change my bike to them in april,same pair for three years,they never seem to wear out and have never had a puncture...only downside is you will rue the day if you try to ride them over mud..you have been warned
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WorsleyBaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Tough and fast

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, good puncture protection, roll well
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I do 2.5k per year, commuting to and from work 2 days per week, and get about 2k out of a rear, before the tread's worn flat, and starting to delaminate from the carcass.
More importantly, I have managed almost a full calendar year without a puncture on these more than once which is absolutely great, especially as they are a pain to get on and off. Always carry good tyre levers e.g. park tool. although it is very unlikely you'll need them very often though
They roll fast, grip well, even when damp. Only downside is they are not the cheapest or lightest, but they are good value, tough and therefore a great choice for commuting.
Since I discovered these, I've not used anything else - enough said!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeMonkey7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent Road Tyre

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Was given several options of road tyre by the service staff at the Wimbledon Branch of Evans, the gent explained the various differences of tread and grip and I opted for these albeit they were only (in my opinion) one step up from slick. I am very happy with these tyres as they are fitted to my Kona Nunu Mountain Bike and have improved life on the tarmac massively. I have experienced them off road on the common on inclines in the wet/mud and they have handled at speed better than I would have thought, although really need off road tyres for this. Would reccommend these tyres to anyone needing a good value, quality set of commuting tyres that grip well in the wet and occasionally cycle through park land etc. Great buy.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StayPuft
from Horsham
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tough tyre

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this tyre to match the Nimbus Armadillo I already have on the back wheel, to fit to my commuting mountain bike. My commute is a 45-mile round trip so I wanted to improve my chances of remaining puncture-free and, as the rear has not punctured (touch wood!) in about 450 miles of riding, I thought having a matching tyre on the front would help. The front tyre has covered about 150 miles, not only on tarmac but also off-road and not a single puncture so far. I also like the fact that you can pump these tyres up hard as it makes them roll easily and very quietly on the road. All in all a very good tyre.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cymruman
from riding to work. Flintshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the third set of these tyres

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
These tyres seem to last about 2000 miles on the rear tyre before they start to shread the tread off the tyre. These new one's have a new style grip which seem to be a bit twitchy going over grids. Over the years of using these tyres I've only had one punture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheGoz
from Dover
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small but nimble

PostedMay 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these after my nobblies wore down and i could feel the drag of the tarmac on my daily commute.
When fitting, because they are not very wide, it was a bit fiiddly compared to my old tyres that are twice the width.
On first glance they looked a bit strange on my Specialzed Hardrock Pro Disc but i went with it, and boy the difference!
I go faster, smoother and quieter,
If you use your bike for communting, then this is the way to go...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TulseHillDan
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good choice for road tyres

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good swap from MTV to road tyres - highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
M1STERTEA
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot On

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As the title suggests, this was exactly what I needed. I was a little nervous about using them in the rain as my previous tyres have always been big and chunky but they solid and stable. They have renewed my confidence following a long sequence of punctures with previous and the improvement in average speed is about 10%. I have literally had no problems so far (400 miles use).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
triathlonsteve
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Armadillos - soft inside, hard outside!

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these after using them on a previous bike about two years ago and never getting a puncture. After getting 3 punctures in the same day, and I only ride 13 miles to work now, I decided it was time to buy some more. They are amazing, and they do exactly what they say. I rode my last ones to the thread and still no air loss requiring a new tube.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>