Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre

Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre

Overall rating:
4.542 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Auditman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perform exactly as I want

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good rollers
Bought these as replacement for the standard tyres supplied with my Cannondale Quick CX1. Got fed up of getting puctures, so as I have had Armadillos on my road bike for two years without a single puncture, decided to buy these.
They arrived quickly, were easy to change, but were taller in cross-section, demanding me raising the short mudguard on the front to accommodate this.
They perform well on rough track, gravel and much better than the originals on the road, as they have great rolling characteristics.
Needless to say, no punctures to date!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kolonel

Very sturdy and a neat fit

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After wearing out the tyres that came with my Crosstrail Elite I decided to swap for these narrower road tyres. They're pretty good and I've ridden through smashed glass a few times with no punctures (touch wood).
They make the ride a lot bumpier and are fairly heavy. Also I'm not sure what impact the tread has on performance. But I'm perfectly happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laboh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tyre

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Centre of tyre allows smooth running on tarmac and edges give grip on gravel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

fantastic tyres

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tough as nails
Cons: Heavy
I have been using Armadillos for years and have always found them excellent. They are a little heavier than ordinary tyres but i dont find this a problem on a mountain bike or suspension hybrid. I do find that after about 4 years you get the occasional puncture !!!
I cant recommend them enough
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PBMagi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Road to Mud, no problem.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, fast, grippy
I wanted a tire for the winter, and this particularly rainy autumn. My route covers road, gravel and mud so I wanted something that would be fast on the road, puncture resistant to the gravel and stones, and grip in the wet mud. This tire has an excellent balance for all three, not quite as grippy in the deep wet mud as I could use, but probably as good as it will get while still flying on the road. I really don't notice the extra grip on asphalt or tarmac, but it's very useful when I head off the road.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrazzer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to get on the rim, just had to spend a few minutes getting the tread to run central, although think this was caused by the tyre being slightly misshapen where they had been on the hook in store. Pumped them up to 100psi and they seem to be fast rolling and quiet, will be giving them a proper run on the roads around Keswick at the weekend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ions
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Rugged - good on and off road

PostedJune 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had semi slick tyres on my cyclocross bike but during Spring when cycling on and off road had frequent punctures and looked for something tougher. Found these Crossroads Armadillos. Pick them up and you'll see that they are substantial - look and feel hard wearing. At first, given the deep tread I feared they would not roll well when compared with the semi slicks they were to replace but this did not turn out to be the case once they were on the bike. I ride over a variety of surfaces - some quite rough and these tyres have stood up well with no punctures since - good buy and, for reducing hasstle alone, recommended.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisOB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good tough looking mixed terain tyre

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I was getting punctures almost every ride with the tyres fitted by Specialized on my Crosstrail Pro. The Crossroads Armadillo is clearly a superior tyre allbeit a bit more expensive (why don't Specialized fit them as standadrd at least on the higher end bikes in the Crostrail range?). No punctures yet on the first two outings which have included tarmac, gravel, grass and a bit of mud, not great on the mud though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
anonymous7
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Far more comfortable than my previous set of tyres, when riding over rough ground and much smoother on the road as well.
Good grip, particularly when taking corners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elray
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

good quality product

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, good grip
i replaced my original tyres (cos they wore out after 1000 miles usage) on my Specialzied Crosstrail 2011, these are performing well, sofar. i didn't recognise any major differences, but have a better grip on icy conditions. Time will tell how they perform in long term.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more punctures - brilliant

PostedApril 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Like several other reviewers I had several punctures with my Specialized factory fitted tyres so decided to buy this tyre. Fitted it to the front of my hybrid (fitted the Elite version to the back) and it has had a real hammering over the last few weeks with not a single problem. Noisier on the road but not that much of a problem
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vialli
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

4 Months on Going Strong

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, durable
I bought a front and rear tyre as my Marathon Cross tyres were getting a puncture on a weekly basis.
Not had a hint of a puncture since buying these 4 months ago, wish I had done it sooner, the amount of time I have wasted fixing punctures.
Quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Superego
from Chester
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Eventually enjoying bike rides in full!

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought Specialized Sport Crosstrain bike in January. Since then had around 8 punctures as a comute around 20miles on a daily basis.
Got really fed up decided to get set of new tyres - recommended by Evans Crossroads Armadillo.
Month passes and... touch the bike - no puncture.
Feel like I have brand new bike! It's little bit quicker and more responsive.
Would recommend immediate change if you get Specialized Sport Crosstrain bike. It's a pity that bike came with paper thin tyres, btw. after a change i've noticed that both of my tyres had cuts all way through!!! Would be great if Specialized do something about a bike which is great but have the cheapest tyres in the history.
Still looking for better airtight tubes as little bit disappointed with Specialized Inner tubes.
I hope Crossroads Armadillo tyres will mange during Autumn and Winter rides...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MNA24
from North East
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worthy upgrade from stock tyres.

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I decided to get rid of the stock tyres on my 2010 Specialized Crosstrail Sport and switch to something with a little more grip as I had a few hairy situations in the wet with the stock tyres.
Slapped these tyres on and got them pumped up to the required psi without too much hassle.
They are a nice set of tyres as I purchased the 26" version for my mountain bike a couple of years ago and they were "grippy" but still rolled well on the road also never punctured. Therefore I decided to get some for my commuting bike.
I can get up a nice bit of speed with these tyres, a lot faster compared to the stock tyres on my bike. They are also very quiet on the road. In the wet they have given me more confidence when taking corners at a reasonable speed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smudger57
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Punctured second time out

PostedJuly 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive, still punctures
Feels heavier and with greater rolling resistance than the standard tyre supplied with the Specialized Crosstrail, lateral grip is not as good as you might expect from the tread pattern with a loss of traction on sandy soil and gravel.
What is worse is that I suffered a puncture on only my second time out on these tyres and then discovered that the valve on my spare inner tube (also from Specialized and Evans) was faulty resulting in a 2 hour walk back to the car.
Puncture resistant does not equal puncture proof even on a cycle path by a canal.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jerm
from Scotland
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all rounder

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought for extra traction and grip when off road, but good rolling properties makes for smooth ride on all surfaces with the benefit of puncture resistance! Little more expense and weight, but don't have to keep changing or repairing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Caerphilly,South Wales
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I cycle both trail and road these tyre are very good on both, fast running and have withstood the broken bottle test several times!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steviemic
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First class product

PostedApril 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Having had a regular puncture I decided to change my tyres toi see f that would solve the problem. The Specialized Armadillo was recommended to me by a friend and so I went online and bought a pair. They were slimmer than the ones already on my bike so the first thing I noticed was that it was easier to ride. I have been using them them now for several weeks and haven't had a single puncture yet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeterH
from Rickmansworth
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Crossroads Armadillo Tyre

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tyre consistently performs. I cycle over 2000 miles a year, mainly on quiet roads and lanes but also off-road tracks and bridleways. The tyre pattern gives good grip in all hybrid use conditions and especially gives confidence when riding in the wet. I had no hesitation on buying another Crossroads Armadillo when the last wore out and fully recommend it. Whilst other riders on my rides had punctures, I had none throughout the whole life of the tyre, something I can't say about other make tyres I have used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Crossroads Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
klytony
from Keighley,
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Re-tyred....

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Well, had my Borough XC Sport, 6months now, so bought these. They look quiet good and sturdy... as I do 24 miles a day, 5 days a week, will be a good test to find out, how well they do last... but, so far, ok.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>