Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre

Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre

Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
20 out of 24(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Davidou
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality product, so far so good.

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Most of my riding is on country lanes here in Monmouthshire and at this time of year (September) the big problem is hedge cutting and thorns. Each year I pick up a few thorn punctures and a few weeks back picked up three thorns in one tyre on one ride. I've bought the "Armadillo" tyres specifically to try and avoid this problem. So far so good. The tyres are excellent quality, were easy to fit and the ride is good albeit a little firmer than before. Ordered on-line and delivered in three days using standard service. All round a satisfied customer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petebog
from Aberdeen
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top All Round Tyre

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent tyre for all round use. Wouldn't use tyres without the Armadillo puncture resistant armouring now-a-days. Thoroughly recommended!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ALibau
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good value for money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these tire to put on my bike for a London to Brighton ride. No puncture, good grip on the road, so overall really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Keebs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Puncture proof at a price!

PostedMay 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, puncture proof, strong sidewalls
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, delamination
I have run these tyres on my cycle to work bike for just over a year. No punctures throughout the year has been great and they have been used on both roads and rougher cycleways. I always find the rear tyres wear much quicker than the fronts on this bike so I normally swap them after a year to stretch the miles. Soon after putting the rear tyre onto the front and after approximately 3500 miles covered in total, one tyre started delaminating. It's annoying because the tyre still had fairly good rubber depth but the tread design which is a light angled cut a bit like some motorbike tyres appears to crack and cause the bigger sections of tread to lift from the armadillo layer. The tyres have always been correctly inflated and there's no damage to the sidewalls. I think these tyres would be much more durable if they were just slicks. The current tread design does not help grip on or off road. I've run other cheaper tyres over the same route on the same bike for more than 6000 miles.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

fantastic tyres

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
been using these tyres on all my bikes apart form road bike for the last 4 years and not had any punctures in all that time , I ride every day so I've put good miles in on them there expensive but you get what you pay for !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
almayfield
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great improvement on the tyre I replaced it with. Much more robust and grips the road/gravel paths well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bumpsteed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I changed over to these tyres for London to Brighton Night Ride. Had a good ride with no punctures. Saw many other people getting punctures!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyCustomer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money and quality

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I commute to work in London, and the roads as most people know are quite a challenge on tyres. I use these Armadillo tyres to help avoid punctures, and the last set I bought was 3 years ago. I had great service from the previous set, so happily replaced them with another new set...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RichardM
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good all round tyre but heavy and bulky

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I purchased these in 700x28 to replace the tyres that came with my Sirrus Elite (also 700x28). These are much heavier and wider which adds to the rolling resistance so I'm a little disappointed. No punctures so far though!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
timmy68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

faster and more secure.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This was the second set of Nimbus I've bought. This time it was for the wife's cycle. I've had my set on for over a year with no problems - I cycle on a combination of rough canal paths and road/cyclepath to work. The wife likes the better tread as she feels more secure on the canal paths. The tyres for me were narrower and have helped reduce my commute to work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bisham55

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I would reccomend this tyre to anyone who does a lot of regular road miles. This is my second Armadillo tyre. The last one I bought was 18 months and over 2000 puncture free miles ago.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Slightlymad
from Cheshire
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Disappointed of Nantwich

PostedNovember 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, punctures
Five punctures in as many weeks, both front and back. All tires up to pressure etc. Customer services are excellent though!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Odds

Good tires

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Only uded a few times but went on easily and seem really solid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Indecisive
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fell apart after a year

PostedMay 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, tread disintegrates
I'm surprised by the praise that has gushed out of other reviewers when it comes to this tyre.
A tyre proves its quality over time, and my experience after precisely a year of use, is that the performance of these tyres is 'fine' - no better than that - but they don't last.
First, in terms of performance:
They have not been impervious to punctures - I ride about 4,000 miles a year on mixed roads and trails and have had around 10 punctures in that time. This was no better or worse than the standard tyres that came with my fairly cheap Specialized Crosstrail.
Their grip and speed has been fine - faster than the chunkier trail tyres I had before, but neither the speed nor grip was anything to write home about.
Second, in terms of long-term quality:
After about 9 months the rear tyre developed a bad split in the tread. Attempts to fix this failed and recently the tread completely came away from the layer beneath and began to peel off, shedding pieces onto the road. This made the tyre unrideable long before the tread had actually worn down.
Perhaps 4,000 miles is good going and I'm not sure how long I'd reasonably expect a tyre to last, but experience with cheaper tyres has been better than this.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WorsleyBaz
UK
 
Please wait while more information about WorsleyBaz is loaded.
Additional information about WorsleyBaz could not be loaded.
4,000 miles is probably too much tio expect.
Posted November 13, 2012
I'm not entirely surprised they fell apart after 4000 miles.
I'm now on my 4th set of these, been running them for 3-4 years and I've been delighted with the performance of mine, 2,000 miles is about what I get from a rear, a bit more from a front and about 3-4 punctures per year, mainly on the rear. I am 14 stone, maybe that has something to do with it.
As the tyre wears down it softens and the punctures become more frequent as you'd expect, and eventually the tread and the carcass do separate, which is not uncommon for armoured tyres.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fixiefan
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tyre

PostedApril 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Good tyre, looks good, drives well, 150 grams heavier than my old nimbus tyre which I was running with extra protection bands. £25 for the tyre-
You could get it cheaper if you buy a £15 tyre and add a £5 "slime" band.
This would still be lighter than this tyre.
But otherwise, OK.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blackrunskier
from East Sussex
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I got a set to replace the standard tyre on my Sirrus Elite. Punctures were driving me mad. They are excellent, meet all the claims. I was a little hesitant thinking the extra tread would make them harder to push along but I did not notice any difference. Most of my cycling is on towpaths, in parks that sort of thing and they cope with anything I can throw at them. I would definitely buy again.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
guwes

armadillo tyre

PostedJune 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
received with no problem but have had 2 punctures with it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BARRETT
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

strong and fast

PostedJune 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
great tyre, i use it for long road cycles and daily commuting. nice and strong but a pain to get on the rims. so far i haven't had any problems and it certainly improves my bikes performance on the road compared to my old slicks which were much heavier.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpecialOne
from Peterborough
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not so fast

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I read in another comment that these tyres were as fast as slicks, no way.
Got these to replace my 10 year old nimbus tyres that were very fast. Although these are the same measurements they are definitely wider, heavier and slower.
That said they are still a great tyre and now that I'm getting used to the extra weight and putting that bit extra effort in, I'm happy with the knowledge that I hopefully won’t be getting a puncture any time soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richardaireside
from Leeds
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Closest I've found to freedom from punctures

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
I finally got round to fitting one of these to my rear wheel, having had 3 punctures in a week. I've had one on the front for 18 months with no punctures at all and virtually no sign of wear after heavy use in city streets and canal paths. They do seem expensive, but ride very well and do feel to be pretty proof to puncture from stupid bits of glass etc.
Only down side for me is the brown rim, which I'd prefer to do without.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>