Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre

Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre

Overall rating:
4.086 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
29 out of 35Would you recommend this product to a friend?83%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality product, so far so good.

Posted27 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Most of my riding is on country lanes here in Monmouthshire and at this time of year (September) the big problem is hedge cutting and thorns. Each year I pick up a few thorn punctures and a few weeks back picked up three thorns in one tyre on one ride. I've bought the "Armadillo" tyres specifically to try and avoid this problem. So far so good. The tyres are excellent quality, were easy to fit and the ride is good albeit a little firmer than before. Ordered on-line and delivered in three days using standard service. All round a satisfied customer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Aberdeen
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top All Round Tyre

Posted26 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent tyre for all round use. Wouldn't use tyres without the Armadillo puncture resistant armouring now-a-days. Thoroughly recommended!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great tyre!

Posted21 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I've had 2 punctures in as many rides and replaced both tyres with the Nimbus and I'm delighted with it. The evil thorns of steel which the cyclist hating imps of doom scatter hither and thither across my country routes should need to work harder to ruin my day and have so far been unsuccessful in puncturing this tyre. Road roll is smooth but ensure you keep the pressure up, grip is adequate - a great tyre although I've only used it on country roads rather than trails or similar.
It's Specialized so you know it's top notch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

So far so good

Posted29 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Early days for a tyre that's only a few weeks old but so far so good and a good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fulham

Does the job you expect from them

Posted13 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I have installed them on both my front and rear wheels on my hybrid bike. They felt like good sturdy chunky tires for all purposes all year around cycling. I have not been cycling that much with my hybrid lately but when I've had, there were no complaint about the tyres. They hold the pressure alright, offer a good grip, comfort and stability. It is a bit early to rate the level of wear and tear but I have had a similar tyre from Specialized in the past and although I should not admit that, it lasted for several years on the bike. The only puncture I had with it is when I eventually had to replace it. I'd say the price is fair for the quality and durability you get and they were easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good roll on this tyre but weak with punctures...

Posted29 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: punctures
I've found these tyres to be great when out on my Hybrid. I use them on a daily commute, around 100 miles each week and have kept very close to the average speed of my road bike whilst using them.
The massive downside is that a tiny bit of gravel can penetrate the tyre and cause a puncture. This has happened on 4 occasions now since June.
Needless to say I am now using different tyres with no issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

never had problems with armadillo

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Not light, but last well and very puncture resistant (I reckon about 4x that of Gatorskins and much more resistant, right down to the woven layer showing through).
I recently purchase another elsewhere (for the other wheel) and discovered there are 3 tread patterns (one obsolete and 2 current), but they last so well it's going to be hard to compare!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

a good touring tyre

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Fitted this tyre to my partners Ridgeback Velocity bike. The bike runs a treat!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

"Dead feel" tyre!

Posted13 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: quick acceleration.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Tried these after marathon plus and infinity armadillos
They slow quicker than the other two when free rolling. Definitely not a comfortable.
Grip not as good. Compound hard and not very "grippy"
Don't see the point of them over infinity armadillos which grip better and don't feel like you are riding on wood
Marathon plus still feel more comfortable than both!
Will probably go back to those as 4 ounces in weight per tyre makes no difference to me!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, fast commuting tyre

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: stiff to fit!
Reassuringly sturdy for puncture resistance on mixed surfaces but nowhere near the weight of schwalbes. Yet slim and fast for high pace commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good tyre at reasonable price

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Wanted an inexpensive puncture resistant tyre for use on my 50 mile a week hybrid. This was the best match I could get in store (where many of the keenly priced internet products don't seem to be stocked). Bought and fitted it a week ago and all good so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tyre

Posted08 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, low rolling resistance, quiet
I use this tyre for my commute which is either 35 or 60 miles each day. I have the 700c x 28 on Mavic A719 rims. They give a nice ride. The tyre has just delaminated in the centre, the rubber coming away from the casing. However it has covered about 7,500 miles in 10 months so I am not too disappointed. I only got one puncture in all these miles from a shard of metal. Even almost worn out the Armadillo belt has not given into punctures. Quite good really. Low rolling resistance, good grip both in wet and dry, and nice and quiet, unlike Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres which are heavy, have a high rolling resistance and whine as you ride.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Services

Posted17 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this 700c Hybrid Tyre in the Brentford shop.
The guys in the shop were very helpful.
The also recommended the Spanner and the Inner Tube that I need for my front wheel.
They even went on to wrap the tyre so that I could easily carry it home.
Excellent services!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good value for money

Posted29 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these tire to put on my bike for a London to Brighton ride. No puncture, good grip on the road, so overall really pleased.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Puncture proof at a price!

Posted04 May 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, puncture proof, strong sidewalls
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, delamination
I have run these tyres on my cycle to work bike for just over a year. No punctures throughout the year has been great and they have been used on both roads and rougher cycleways. I always find the rear tyres wear much quicker than the fronts on this bike so I normally swap them after a year to stretch the miles. Soon after putting the rear tyre onto the front and after approximately 3500 miles covered in total, one tyre started delaminating. It's annoying because the tyre still had fairly good rubber depth but the tread design which is a light angled cut a bit like some motorbike tyres appears to crack and cause the bigger sections of tread to lift from the armadillo layer. The tyres have always been correctly inflated and there's no damage to the sidewalls. I think these tyres would be much more durable if they were just slicks. The current tread design does not help grip on or off road. I've run other cheaper tyres over the same route on the same bike for more than 6000 miles.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

fantastic tyres

Posted01 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
been using these tyres on all my bikes apart form road bike for the last 4 years and not had any punctures in all that time , I ride every day so I've put good miles in on them there expensive but you get what you pay for !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Posted31 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great improvement on the tyre I replaced it with. Much more robust and grips the road/gravel paths well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I changed over to these tyres for London to Brighton Night Ride. Had a good ride with no punctures. Saw many other people getting punctures!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money and quality

Posted28 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I commute to work in London, and the roads as most people know are quite a challenge on tyres. I use these Armadillo tyres to help avoid punctures, and the last set I bought was 3 years ago. I had great service from the previous set, so happily replaced them with another new set...
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Nimbus Armadillo 700c Hybrid Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good all round tyre but heavy and bulky

Posted21 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I purchased these in 700x28 to replace the tyres that came with my Sirrus Elite (also 700x28). These are much heavier and wider which adds to the rolling resistance so I'm a little disappointed. No punctures so far though!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>