Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre

Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre

Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
57 out of 60(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muirman
from Highland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit, good puncture resistance. Good balance between sped and durability.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fonge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good in all weathers

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The difference between the elite tyre and the standard is noticeable when riding on poor roads. This tyre gives a more comfortable ride over the standard. Only had 1flat in 3000 miles, then replaced because it was worn out.
Would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Brilliant combination of protection and speed

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
No tyre is perfect (I've had one puncture on this tyre to date) but this is as good as it gets - very fast, very strong and a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scud1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Puncture protection so far.

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, great puncture protection
Cons: Expensive
I have used a number of so called puncture proof tyres and these come out on TOP! slightly heavier than other tyres but thats the small price you pay for not having to change a flat every two weeks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Labrock73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Great grip and roll on

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great grip and roll on is fantastic,hard ride but I like the feed back through the bike some may not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crossy007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have used these tyres for a few years as i am heavy and commute 120miles a week. I mostly use them on the rear wheel.
This year i have gone through two of these tyres and had 1 puncture. This was due to a builders staple going through the tyre.
They perhaps dont roll as well as some other slicker tyres but i still get a decent avg mph out of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awatts15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good price, pretty grippy without being heavy. great all round
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovejoy572
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

1000 Miles and no flats !

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
The All Condition Armadillo Elite tyres were fitted as standard to my Specialized road bike and have clocked up over 1000 miles without any punctures. I ride a mixture of Dry and Wet miles and as suggested, they really do offer reassuring handling in 'All Conditions', although I haven't tried them on snow or ice yet ! I have fitted Specialized 'Armadillo' variant tyres on my MTB also, as they seem to offer the best all-round solution for flat protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZeroRisk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Best tyre so far!

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I started off with Schwalbe Lugano tyres on a second-hand Giant Defy Alliance that I bought on eBay. The tyres were very thin and it wasn't long until I got a puncture... Yes, one of two eventually.
Was looking for a replacement that day as the hole that was ripped into the tyre meant that even though I'd replaced the inner tube, it would only be a matter of time until it happened again.
(London roads for you...)
Walked into Evans and had a chat with the nice bloke there. He recommended these tyres to me after I told him that I wasn't a pro cyclist or anything and needed a good all-rounder tyre that wouldn't puncture so easily.
So far, so very, very good. Tyre has had no punctures over the last couple of months, it feels smooth and comfortable and the grip levels are greatly improved over the previous tyres I had.
Only issue, the Luganos looked so much nicer on my predominantly Blue and Carbon Black frame. If only they did these with colour to match your frame they would be even better.
I know, minor gripe for something that does what it says on the tin, well, packet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
uadnandyb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres: no sideslips, low resistance.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I'm quite happy with this type of tyre. It has low resistance and light weight. I didn't have sideslips with it. After riding 1300km I didn't have a puncture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
HotAir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but not puncture proof

PostedDecember 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: still got a puncture
Bought these to see if they would prevent me from getting another puncture. For the first few weeks they were great however after the 3rd week i got yet another puncture. would not recommend good to ride with but hardly puncture proof.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jon81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Great puncture protection but wear very quickly

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I've been running 23mm and 25mm Armadillos for a few years now. Always thought they were brilliant. But the last three I've bought have failed a lot quicker than I would expect.
Firstly I wouldn't recommend the folded version - I bought one and the sidewall just came apart after about 3/4 weeks.
My current one is beaded, and the top layer of rubber started to bubble, which I could feel through the ride - then within 2 days it has started to peel off. This also happened to my front tire about 6 months ago. Am starting to wonder if their quality standards just aren't the same as they used to be. Considering switching to marathon plus or schwalbe duranos..
Having said all that - I still very rarely get a puncture - you can't fault them for that!
Worth bearing in mind I'm also about 110kg so weight may be a factor here.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Great quality tyre

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent tyre, rides really well in all conditions and is tough enough for the daily commute. I ride roughly 80 miles per week and have had these tyres for around two months without a single puncture yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

No Complaints!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
For the little I know about tires these seem very good. I went on a recommendation from the evans staff and these tyres have been brilliant so far, no complaints at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pawm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great tyre, good grip, hard wearing

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, grip, puncture resistance
Cons: Expensive
I changed to this tyre after finding the slick tyres my bike came with, just too unnerving on big climbs and wet roads. I suffered a couple of nasty falls in snowdonia due to slipping on steep climbs and decided to change at that point.
My rides feel a lot more secure now, particularly in the current autumnal weather. For my standard of cycling, I really don't notice the weight differential etc. Given the condition of Manchester roads, the puncture resistance is also critical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good puncture resistance

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I have used armadillo tyres for 12 years in 26" guise & have found them to be more or less bullet proof so used this experience for the reason for picking them in 700c size. I've been running them for 4 weeks now & just picked up a puncture on my ride home & the culprit was a razor sharp piece of glass so don't think anything would have kept that out. From my past experience of these tyres they will last about 4k miles until the punctures become more frequent & need to be changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

this tyre is very deceiving

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
when i first bought these tyres i was a bit hesitant at first because of the price but i thought "may as well" its gonna last me a long time... and thats where the problems began. i dont do a great deal of riding if im honest. i ride to and from work around 5 or 6 days a week, the ride is about 9 miles, so 18 miles a day. After a month of having the tyres i found that the tread wasn't fully worn in but the rubber was slowly coming away from the fiber around the edges of the tyre which meant there were some very horrible bumps in the tire with no way of getting them out. i will never buy these tyres again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Tyres!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, excellent puncture resistance
Cons: Heavy
Bought these to replace the standard tryes that came with my bike after getting a recurring puncture.
I've since done around 300miles on them, over some pretty terrible roads and have only had one puncture which was caused by a huge piece of flint, so can't really blame the tyres for that one! Definitely would have had more with my old tyres.
Can't fault the tyres at all really, they seem a little heavy but that's to be expected really considering the puncture resistance and frankly I'm not good enough for that to be a problem anyway!
Can't recommend these tyres enough though, buy them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
newby2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Armadillooooooooos!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I wanted a tyre that I could get a lot of miles out of for long weekend fitness runs and so far I'm very happy with them. I've never fitted tyres before and these were easier than I thought they would be. I would definitely recommend these...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo Elite 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bulletproof

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
You get what you pay for - I wanted high puncture resistance and these seem to be bulletproof. They are more expensive than my usual choice of Michelin tyre but I think it is money well spent as I hate changing tubes mid-ride. They are directional so make sure you fit them correctly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>