Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre

Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre

Overall rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 154 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
55
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
145 out of 154(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 79 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeR
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent all condition road tyre

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have had a pair of these tyres on my bike for 2 years and in all conditions, with good grip and a low rate of wear. I have only had one puncture in that time despite riding predominantly on rural roads. A very good all condition road tyre.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skippy1
from Stafford
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought these tyres for winter road use - early days yet but they seem to do exactly what is required - more grip, though (as expected) slightly more rolling resistance
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Unitedv Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does exactly what it says on the tin!

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It does exactly what it says on the tin!
I have personally used these tyres (or the Elite) for years and personally recommend them. I have always found them to be ideal for all kinds of British weather. Easy to fit. But the best thing about these tyres is their puncture resistance. I have never, no never, punctured with these tyres. They last for miles. They do have more rolling resistance than some tyres but to the average club cyclist this seems minimal.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wheezy
from Cambridge
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Puncture Protection

PostedMay 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, great puncture resistance, good grip in all conditions
I don't know if Armadillos have a tough skin, but the Specialized All Condition Armadillo tyres do. I have used these tyres for many years, and have very few punctures. If I do get a puncture, it's usually because I have let the tyre wear too much. I use the 25mm wide version, as it lasts longer than the 23mm and I don't think the rolling resistance is significantly impaired. I periodically remove flints/sharp stones that become embedded in the tyre, to avoid the possibility of them working their way through the outer skin.
I usually get around 3000 to 4000 miles per rear tyre, and slightly greater for the front.
If you want near puncture free cycling, with good grip in all conditions, buy these!
+18points
25of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jessica7
from West berkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All Condition Armadillo Tyres

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Wow! What a tyre, this was first recommended to me by a friend in a cycle shop 2 years ago, saying he used them on his hybrid & rode them down the towpath! Since then I've used them constantly on my training bike. I've had a 23mm on the front & a 25mm on the rear from last October & have covered just under 2000 miles in all conditions including rough farm tracks, hedge cuttings & gravel byways without a single puncture in either! The rear is coming up for a change soon due to loss of tread in the middle but road handling in the wet as yet still not affected! A great tyre a bit on the heavyside for racing but well worth the money!!!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
edbv
London
 
Please wait while more information about edbv is loaded.
Additional information about edbv could not be loaded.
Thanks for the great review
Posted April 11, 2011
I didn't think about having different sizes on front and back, but makes a lot of sense. Keep sharing!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMJT
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it's supposed to do

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
I've only had these on my road bike for a few months and haven't had any punctures. I use similar ones on my commuting bike and haven't had a puncture in 4 years, so absolutely brilliant. A must for winter/spring training or sportives.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBeastRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Perfect choice of tyre. Easy to fit, good grip in all weathers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leemy
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent wear. Never had a puncture.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Never had a puncture with armadillos.Tyre has worn through to base layer on 2 occasions and trouble free in city cycling also.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ApacheSenzala
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Brilliant tyre replaced standard continentals

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, grips well, runs fast
Cons: Expensive
I've been riding hard with tyre for 3 weeks now and haven't had issues with it. Its lovely and grippy in the wet but runs fast when its dry. Feels like it can't take the London streets. I haven't felt this secure about my tyres since I owned Schwalbe Marathons so overall excellent. Would have rated it 5 stars but I've only had it 3 weeks lets see where its at in 6 months
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woolley10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Does exactly what is says on the tin

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Having become all too proficient at repairing punctures, I bought a set of these three years ago for a four day charity ride. In all the time since I haven't experienced a single puncture. With a lot of miles on the tyres they are looking a bit battered and worn and its time for replacement, but a straight swap was an easy decision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alejote
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

good quality - good price

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
good quality - good price. I use these tyres to ride half way road and half way ground and since then i haven't suffered any puncture. hard case and rubber, a bit heavy but nothing your legs can't stand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RiverSide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great tough tyre

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does what it says on the tin, nice and tough and it even rides ok when low.
The only down side is they are are a struggle to get on the wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hammer14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Tough wearing tyre

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Third tyre of this type I have had and really impressed by how hard wearing they are. Not as light as some but with current road conditions they work really well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ajgarth

Cannot fault

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cannot fault, makes me realize how bad my last tyre was
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent puncture protection

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a repeat order. I bought these tyres for my old road bike and enjoyed two and a half years of puncture free riding (about 3,000 miles). Just upgraded my bike and looking forward to the same experience!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nunners
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great winter training tyre

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I put these on every winter - they provide great stability in the wet without being too heavy/slow. I bought a pair of these for my daughter after she took a fall on her slicks - she loves them - they've given her confidence in the wet. Overall good value for money winter trainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaztheGer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great tyre

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Got this tyre Yesterday and it is the first time using this type of tyre and have to say GREAT TYRE. Bike ran the best it has for a while. Great service and advise from the Braehead Glasgow store. Will defo be back to buy another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cumbrian1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good grip

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought these tyres for entering a sportive in the Lake District.
My tyres were slicks and there was rain forecast for the day of the event.
The rain did come and was I glad I had these tyres fitted when going down steep hills in the rain. The tyres gripped the road and I did not notice any difference to rolling resistance on the flat compared to my other slick tyres.
They look good quality and I feel it will be a long time before they wear out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jan01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good slick tyres

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I replaced my wife's previous specialised tyres with these as they were getting thin and she picked up 4 punctures in 2 days. Now all work fine and no puntctures in 150 miles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beanz16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great tyres, have been using these for commuting for three years and only experienced one puncture. Nothing is 100% puncture proof but these are pretty impressive. Not too heavy and roll well with decent grip.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>