Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre

Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre

Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 168 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
158 out of 168(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 79 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeR
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent all condition road tyre

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have had a pair of these tyres on my bike for 2 years and in all conditions, with good grip and a low rate of wear. I have only had one puncture in that time despite riding predominantly on rural roads. A very good all condition road tyre.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skippy1
from Stafford
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought these tyres for winter road use - early days yet but they seem to do exactly what is required - more grip, though (as expected) slightly more rolling resistance
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Unitedv Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does exactly what it says on the tin!

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It does exactly what it says on the tin!
I have personally used these tyres (or the Elite) for years and personally recommend them. I have always found them to be ideal for all kinds of British weather. Easy to fit. But the best thing about these tyres is their puncture resistance. I have never, no never, punctured with these tyres. They last for miles. They do have more rolling resistance than some tyres but to the average club cyclist this seems minimal.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wheezy
from Cambridge
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Puncture Protection

PostedMay 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, great puncture resistance, good grip in all conditions
I don't know if Armadillos have a tough skin, but the Specialized All Condition Armadillo tyres do. I have used these tyres for many years, and have very few punctures. If I do get a puncture, it's usually because I have let the tyre wear too much. I use the 25mm wide version, as it lasts longer than the 23mm and I don't think the rolling resistance is significantly impaired. I periodically remove flints/sharp stones that become embedded in the tyre, to avoid the possibility of them working their way through the outer skin.
I usually get around 3000 to 4000 miles per rear tyre, and slightly greater for the front.
If you want near puncture free cycling, with good grip in all conditions, buy these!
+18points
26of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tinny1
Birmingham
 
Please wait while more information about Tinny1 is loaded.
Additional information about Tinny1 could not be loaded.
Not great
Posted June 8, 2014
I've had this tyre for 3 months and it has basically fell apart, it's as if the top layer of rubber has just peeled off. It may just be one dodgy tyre but still expected more.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jessica7
from West berkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All Condition Armadillo Tyres

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Wow! What a tyre, this was first recommended to me by a friend in a cycle shop 2 years ago, saying he used them on his hybrid & rode them down the towpath! Since then I've used them constantly on my training bike. I've had a 23mm on the front & a 25mm on the rear from last October & have covered just under 2000 miles in all conditions including rough farm tracks, hedge cuttings & gravel byways without a single puncture in either! The rear is coming up for a change soon due to loss of tread in the middle but road handling in the wet as yet still not affected! A great tyre a bit on the heavyside for racing but well worth the money!!!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
edbv
London
 
Please wait while more information about edbv is loaded.
Additional information about edbv could not be loaded.
Thanks for the great review
Posted April 11, 2011
I didn't think about having different sizes on front and back, but makes a lot of sense. Keep sharing!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMJT
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it's supposed to do

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
I've only had these on my road bike for a few months and haven't had any punctures. I use similar ones on my commuting bike and haven't had a puncture in 4 years, so absolutely brilliant. A must for winter/spring training or sportives.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kalyhas

It is not for long-term use!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality
A 10 cm long piece of the top layer peeled off (see the pictures) after about 2.5 year of very light (1-2 times/week) usage. It wasn't punched or anything like that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pat4Playtime

Good, but still get punctures

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Winter road cycling in the wet meant loads of punctures. Purchased this tyre in an attempt to overcome the punctures. Well, the number of punctures has reduced with this tyre, but I still get them. After each ride, I upturn the bke and destone the tyres, that helps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zico21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

great service

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Ordered tyres on monday .picked on tuesday.fitted today .great service thank you evanscycles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PJME74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

A good tyre for London roads

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I was having a lot of trouble with punctures. the stones, glass and potholes on London streets means that average tyres will not last. I have found that these tyres last me at least a year and I cycle on average 10 miles a day, 300 days a year.
Great product "Does what it says on the tin!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeanieA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Zero punctures 2500 miles in

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Title says it all. I've commuted through terrible floods during this winter, with wheels submerged to the hubs on many occasions. The read has finally worn out at 2500 miles, the front is fine. In that time, inc some gravelly cycle tracks I have had zero punctures. Fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gmay
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

A must for road cyclists

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These tyres will pay for themselves over a year. Cuts the number of punctures down to almost nil, though I have found the ride is a bit harder and a bit slower than before. Given their thickness I recommend the thinner inner tubes for a lighter and more comfortable ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FatDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good bit of kit

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, puncture resistant
Got two pairs of these, 700x25 on the road bike and 700x28 on the commuter. Great grip, excellent puncture resistance. Can't fault them at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PGAT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good puncture resistance

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Definitely has better puncture resistance than the "non-Armadillo" All Condition, worth the higher price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LukeyMan

Very dependable!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought my last set of these 3 weeks ago and no punctures yet. Touch wood!
Great for my commute into work. Maybe not your ideal race tyres, but for anyone wanting to cut down on punctures, the Armadillo is your best friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Binky74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Good quality, durable tyre

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Have been going back to this tyre for a while now. The name armadillo does as it suggests, a tough and durable tyre which despite putting through some tough conditions has a good life span and offers overall good value for money. There are other cheaper options which I couldn't vouch for which may well do as good of a job as this tyre but will be sticking with this product as has never let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrandFromage
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Nice fast tyre but good in the wet

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Got these on my touring bike and they are a great choice if you want something a bit faster than a traditionally heavy treaded touring tyre
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stormoff
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I've only had these on my road bike for a month and haven't had any punctures so far. I use armadillo's on my off-road bike and have been pleased with them, so absolutely brilliant. Great for winter/spring training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trebormint40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great winter tyre

PostedApril 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, resists punctures
Cons: Heavy
I have been using these tyres for two years and they are extremely reliable. They are heavy compared to other tyres and this is a down side. For winter riding however this is something I am prepared to put up with if it means having a tyre that does not puncture. I have had two punctures in two years using these. Very robust, good grip in the wet and dry, not the fastest but great puncture proof tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized All Condition Armadillo 700c Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Forget about puctures

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I've been using these tyres for several years and average about one puncture a year. They offer good grip in the wet with low rolling resistance. However, the strip of rubber that is in contact with the road de-laminates from the tyre after about 18 moths, which could be a bit disastrous if not spotted in time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>