Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre

Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre

Overall rating:
4.653 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(176 reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 176 reviews
5 Stars
130
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
170 out of 176(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 149 Answers
Customer reviews for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Review 1 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eltel
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyre

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Currently had racing slicks on my bike, but was covering rides on cycle tracks and required a little more purchase, and fewer punctures , friend recommoneded marathon plus as a great comprimise for both road and semi off road riding. Good call, easier transition between surfaces and no punctures to date. (fingers crossed). Overall if you require a tyre for both road and track riding then this is the one.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
getoffandmilkit
 
Please wait while more information about getoffandmilkit is loaded.
Additional information about getoffandmilkit could not be loaded.
Posted July 4, 2011
My commute is about 6 miles on 90% road/10% path. To give an indication of the state of the surfaces here in Southampton, I suffered 6 punctures in 8 weeks using the Continental Ultra Race 700x25c that came with my new bike. Since switching to these, 8 weeks have passed and I haven't had one
For me they give a more comfortable and confident ride as well
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough on, tough to get on

PostedApril 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: no puncture yet
Great service from Evans. Arrived very promptly etc.
I was getting too many punctures from my lightweight tyres and went for these based on other reviews.
Be warned -- they take a lot more time, effort and care to fit properly. It's not a 2 minute job like it was with their paper-thin predecessors.
But now they're on I haven't noticed any great change in terms of performance but I haven't had a puncture yet, despite miles on inner city bike paths, towpaths, disused railway lines etc etc.
A bargain if they continue to avoid any more roadside repairs.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thoran
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good quiet tyre

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: hard to fit
I bought this tyre to go on my Pinnacle Arkose One as the Kenda Small Block 8's that it came fitted with, although a good tyre, were creating a lot of road noise. After asking some more experienced riders than me for advice they suggested I try a slicker set of tyres. As my daily commute is about to go from just under 3 miles to 20 miles I wanted a tyre that would give good puncture protection. After reading the product description and other reviews these tyres seemed to fit the bill and so far they haven't disappointed. I feel these tyres are already giving me less resistance and that I can push them to a higher speed. Road rolling noise has also disappeared for now.
One point to note, the tyres are very stiff and it took two of us to fit them as the tyre wall is very stiff and required one of us to hold it in place while the other one levered it on.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KWJSH
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent winter tyre

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, resilience
I bought a set of these for this winter's commuting and have not been disappointed. So far I've had these on for five months and not had a single puncture. These tyres are very hard wearing and look like they'll be good for at least part of next winter too.
There's a noticeable increase in roll resistance when you come off summer or racing tyres but that's to be expected from a tyre with this much resilience.
These do take a while and some patience to get on the rim and I found that the tyres would only settle on the rims when inflated to a maximum of 95psi rather than the usual 110-120.
Also good in heavy rain and I even had other cyclists admiring the reflective loops along the side of the tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HaggardRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fabulously durable tyre

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After 6 months relatively light use my Schwalbe Marathon tyres were getting quite cut up from riding on London streets. Meanwhile the 20" Marathon Plus tyres on my folder which have seen 1+ year of heavy use are showing little damage, so I've bought the 700C version for my other bike. People have said that they are hard to fit - true for 20", not so in my opinion for 700C. I managed to get them on without much difficulty without tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cntchuck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good mixed-commute tyre

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, rolls well, inspires confidence for punctures
Cons: Heavy, not for fast commute
Sturdy, not-overly chunky, easy rolling tyre that has proven to be good for a mixed commute on pot-holed roads, cycle paths and grass. Looks good and weighs about the right amount for a hybrid bike. Wouldn't say it's built for speed but is a good all rounder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

good tough product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
good tough product
adds speed and endurance - i love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Limonegerry

Excellent tyre

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: does match the other tyre!
No complaints at all here. This si ideal for the commuting I'm doing on this bike. mostly on canal trails and a little eon roads, do it fits the bill
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mia2805
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Fantastic product makes my bike go faster

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Not only I stopped getting flat tyres since the upgrade I also increased my speed !
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fras67
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb for commuting

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: puncture proof
I have ridden to work for 25 years and over time I got sick of punctures.
If you want a peaceful commute basically buy these tyres. I was doing about 6000 kms a year and changing the tyres every year.
Its also essential to pump your tyres up on a daily basis to maintain constant pressure. Over six years of commuting on these tyres I have had NO punctures!
Lately, I have kept these tyres for longer and I think I have done about 10000 kms and although they look really worn I still havent had a puncture but I think Im pushing my luck and will change them shortly.
So in essence, if you maintain the correct pressure in these tyres and change them every 5000 kms it is highly unlikely you will get punctures. I havent had a single puncture in six years. I also carry a lot of weight in panniers.
I know they are expensive and perhaps a bit heavy but no other tyre compares if you want a puncture proof commute!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KROSOTV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent puncture protection

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Bought a pair of these tyres after suffering numerous punctures over a 3 week period on my commute to work. These tyres have been fitted for over a month now and I've not had a single puncture.
There are some negatives as they are heavy and can be tough to get seated on the rim. However I cant see these needing to be removed for quite some time. Also I'd rather be cycling with a heavier tyre than fixing a puncture.
The reflective strip around the tyre is a nice touch and really makes you seen at night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ems1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kendal

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Good quality tyre, fitted easily, smooth quick ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonDeM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

seems to be good

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I commute about 30k each day and with the weather being horrible at the moment, i didnt feel as safe on the standard tyres that came with the bike. These seem to have a lot better grip, and with no noticeable loss in power i am pleased so far with them. Not the cheapest model I could have chosen but I think worth it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
citylaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Tyres are good. Not cheap, but effective. Pretty hard wearing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Henry1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great winter tyres

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Really good quality tyres that inspire confidence in the wet. Also like the reflective strip on the tyre wall.
Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wookie766
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Fantastic puncture resistance

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I've been using these tyres for over a year and they are an excellent product. Having bought other 'so called' puncture resistant tyres in the past, where I would regularly get a dozen punctures each month, if not more, (though part of my route is along a tow path which has a lot of flint), I was getting very frustrated. But since I've been using these tyres I've only had 2 punctures in a year, one being a piece wire and the second one being a large piece of glass. I've pulled out a number of thorns and other bits of debris from the tyre but they haven't gone down. I wouldn't buy any other tyre in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blakey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Happy cycling

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is the 3rd time since 2006 that I have bought these tyres, and I have had 3 punctures in al that time...all via nails
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Port1881
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

No more punctures

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
After having puncture resistant tyres that punctured twice in 2 weeks on Liverpool's shocking roads I went for the strongest tyre I could find and these haven't let me down. They feel like they'll survive anything and the rubber so far isn't cutting up. Definitely worth the money and effort (they're a pain to get on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcb46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy Winter Tyres

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, tough, grippy
Cons: Heavy, sluggish
These were put on to replace some worn out slick-type road tyres I'd had on for over a year and a half. The grip is much better and they seem after 10 or 12 hours of riding to be really sturdy and strong against those nasty punctures when it's raining and you're in the middle of nowhere.
I was happy to buy Schwalbe ones as my previous ones had done several 1000 km's with no trouble and had literally lasted until the rubber wore through.
I only moved up from 23x700c to these at 25x700c, but they were noticeably tougher to get onto the wheel (which is fine to take this thickness tyre) and I'm not looking forward to having to change it at the road side.
The reason I've given it four stars is because they feel a LOT heavier and more sluggish on the road. Maybe this is unfair as the reduced zippiness of the bike is an accepted pay off for the greater grip and sturdiness, but I have been suprised by how much nip I've lost since changing. These'll see me great through winter and then I'll get some FAST ones on for summer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700C SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mindaugas123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Marathon plus

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Best tyre i ever had, soo safe to drive, take same vibration off, very comfortable, has reflective sides very easy to see at night(see photo)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>