Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre

Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre

Overall rating:
4.359 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
34 out of 39(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Review 1 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeK2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good quality tyre.

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice and grippy in wet and muddy conditions.
Provides a comfortable and smooth ride.
Like the colour option too.
Good value tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BillyCool
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre - an old favourite

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, predictable handling
I've been mountain biking since 1991 (yes it's a while ago). Been using the XC Pro for the last 15+ years. Some say it's `old skool` and there are better , newer models out there. I say `it works` (and I'm old skool so who cares.)
Good grip (more importantly it's predictable so I know what the tyre can do before it's too late). Can pump up to 60 psi so really good for hard, dry ground and tarmac bashing.
I was running 2.1's and got some 1.8's to see if they would run a bit quicker on the road and dry trails (I do get a bit of drag on long hill climbs etc but that would happen with any 2.1 tyre). The 1.8's are awesome - skinnier- so the bike looks like it's been on a diet.
Used them at the weekend on the Viking Challenge - 55km of fairly hard/dry trails and some tarmac. Awesome on hill climbs (which I hate), uber quick downhill and just felt less cumbersome. Will wait for the winter to set in before passing judgement on the muckier stuff.
Great tyre (good looking as well) and not just for old folk like me.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PW61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality tyre

Posted01 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
How long have I been using Fire X?? No idea but this is the one I come back to constantly.
Good all rounder; no idea why some say it is heavy. If you are using an MTB on tarmac or greenways, maybe you should buy a hybrid or roadbike!!
This is a great tyre for off road cycling that the bikes were designed for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davedu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great

Posted12 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Very happy with product, good grip in muddy areas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bolshi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Very grippy and good looking

Posted05 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very grippy in muddy conditions but also nice and smooth rolling.Colours look great on bike.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EECBoardman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

On fire!

Posted06 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, extreme grip
These are by far the best tyres I have ridden on, Off road, they are super grippy and comfy without a lot of noise.
Used them throughout Dalby forest and had no problems at all.
The added bonus of a bit of colour makes the bike stand out from the crowd.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lukey2k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Nice Tyre , Easy to Fit and Very grippy

Posted26 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great for XC use, tread is very grippy , tyre went on easy enough , looks good , directional arrows to assist with front and rear use , good price
would recommend this to other XC riders
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
delta1983
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted07 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: draggy
Great looking tyre.
Grip is pretty good in all conditions.
It's quite a slow draggy tyre on the road getting to trails.
Overall though a good tyre
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scot1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent grip, smooth ride, looks good to.

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I use my mountain bike on road and old railway line track (wet and dry conditions). Grips superb to the track. Chunky treads give you a feeling of confidence. Quiet on the road. Recommended as a solid, sturdy tyre..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tjgrump
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great grip

Posted24 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Rode 3 hour MTB race - steep single track with some muddy sections. Tyre gripped very well & maintained good control on decent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Esoxman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grip you need this tyre grips

Posted21 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First ride out with this tyre it split, lost my confidence in it but got a replacement and not looked back since. Run the tyre on the back all winter in rain snow and sleet, it was great no problems with this tyre, confidence is high, sheds mud and runs well and I would say a good wearing tyre.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
whitedog99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

v good tyre

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
i ride only on rough ground every day with my dogs. i do over 1000 miles a year. i have this tyre on the front and now on the back, i have moments that on other tyres would put me on the ground, but these tyres are very grippy. and will be purchasing another one soon. they only last about a year but a crash free year so i think worth the extra cash.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snake007uk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Posted22 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
found tire to be very good but in wet the grip went a bit but for an all in one trire very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ForestRider2012
from UK
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good in the mud

Posted21 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Put these tyres on front and back and were easy to fit. Done a fair few miles with them now and I am impressed. Much better than the kendas I had before hand. They clear sticky clayey mud pretty well although I have got stuck a couple of times (more to do with my gears playing up) but they did get temporarily clogged up when I went slow through some deep mud...as expected i guess.
Overall a decent trail tyre and have not had any punctures or pinches so would recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MattAsh
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply Perfect tyres

Posted26 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great tranction, perfect hasnling
These tyres are simply perfect.
the traction and handling on these fire XC pro tires are 2nd to none, i can take corners much faster and much tighter than any other tyre i have used.
The composite of the tires are very soft and rubber like, even when pumped to full psi still feel quite squidgy to touch, but i can not stress how food they handle.
Be advised that these tires do not have kevlar puncture protection, as i 1st thought, they are only have kevlar beading ( which makes them foldable and easy to put on wheels without the need for tools.)
for this reason i give it 4 stars
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
londonmtb
from London

No Kevlar thorn protection

Posted08 August 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: not what it says on the tin
According to the UK Panaracer distributor this tyre is not protected by Kevlar for thorn and glass type of punctures. I returned the product to Evans as this protection is what I thought I was buying. Evans need to check if there is any Kevlar in this tyre!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lordoftheeggs
 
Please wait while more information about lordoftheeggs is loaded.
Additional information about lordoftheeggs could not be loaded.
Posted 09 August 2011
Hi there londonmtb,
This tyre makes no claim to have any kind of puncture protection belt. The word 'Kevlar' refers to the folding bead of the tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spookywoodhero
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kevlar is the best

Posted31 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use these tyres to reduce ounctures get great wear and no side wall problems. Also good on the ricks and roots even in the wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MinchMBR
from Glos
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb front and rear

Posted24 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great tyres on slippery cotswold rock and mud, sure cornering, minimal rolling resistance. Just great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Walts65
from Scotland, Ayrshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Tyre

Posted06 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not too experienced, but on a GT Avalanche these are much better than originals. Cornering especially is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panaracer Fire XC Pro Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AndyTempleIsland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Use Slime

Posted20 June 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: little puncture protection
Hi - tire has good grip - but really poor puncture resistance. Managed to puncture both front and back first time out. Much more substantial belt needed !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>