Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre

Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre

Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Review 1 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AMT123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good XC tyre.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Never used these before but used them over 3 weeks of cross-country in the Swiss Alps and was very impresssed. Lots of road and fireroad climbs, technical singletrack and fast gravelly descents - handled them all well - not too draggy on tarmac and good grip on the tricky stuff. They still look like new. Don't know what they're like on wet roots - but fine at Cwmcarn in the dry, and a wet ride around The Wall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scaryjim
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I've angered the rain gods...

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, good grip
Since getting these tyres, we've had nothing but glorious sunshine! That said, the grip and cornering offered by these tyres on loose gravel is good, and that is without loosing any noticeable speed. This is the first time I've run maxxis, but I bought them on previous Evans customer recommendations ... And so far I wasn't lied to!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DennisK
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Impressed

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Picked one up a couple of months ago to try on the back of my HT. I had tried the High Roller and the Advantage in the past and was a lot less than happy with them. The Crossmark though has turned out to be quite a pleasant surprise. Fast and grippy on dry stuff and on tarmac (have not had the chance to try in the wet yet), corners well, is pretty light and seems to take the abuse I throw at it very well. I have it paired with a Bontrager xr4 on the front and the two jive just fine. All in all a good affordable tire for fast cross country riders. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ryugo
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very fast, yet reliable with good grip

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This tyre is really pleasant suprise. Speed was expected, but had my doubts about it performing on trails that we ride where you go from roots, over gravel and hard pack all to big DH alike rocks and stones. It simply performed exelent in all those and might be my new favorite summer rear tyre.
I have paired it with xking front and speed and handling is really good.
Did not try it in wet conditions, but I have another set of wheels for mud diving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Discosnowy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, overall performance
I'd had enough of punctures with the Conti Mountain Kings (that came with the bike) so I replaced these with the Crossmarks . After 3 weeks riding the same trails on the Crossmarks I've had no punctures so very pleased from that aspect.
I think rolling resistance is improved and cornering grip levels on dry hard pack are really good, giving me a lot more confidence than the Contis. Straight line, up hill grip grip is about the same. Not tried them in wet conditions yet so unable to advise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ErroneousBee
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good all rounder, not so good in mud.

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
A good all rounder on hard surfaces: wet roots, packed clay, gravel.
Doesn't clear itself of mud (and, I assume, thick snow) the way a mud specific tyre would, but you cant have everything.
Not too bad on tarmac either, not too noisy and OK rolling resistance on the central knobs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gifted
from Victoria, Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great all-rounder

PostedJune 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, durable
For those that want a great all-round tyre, the Maxxis Crossmark is it! I've run Maxxis Larson TTs and Ignitors in the past, but nothing gives the grip and all-round durability of the Maxxis Crossmark tyre. Use the Crossmark on the back, with an ignitor on the front and you've got tyhe perfect combination of grip and speed!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surfriend2002
from Sao Jose dos Campos/SP - Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre

PostedApril 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks really great, rolls easily but it´s not THAT grippy in a slippery mud. All the rest is pretty fine and I would recommend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Emmay
from Lake District
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Grippy tyres

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great grippy tyres in all conditions from dry, loose trails to slippery mud. Have used on a few rocky, red downhills without any problems but personally I haven't found them to shed mud very well. Having said that, the grip hasn't seem to have been affected too much. Wearing well so far
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smudger
from Peterborough
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Grippy off-road, rolls well on-road

PostedApril 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not durable
I’ve had one of these as a rear tyre for a while now and have been pleased with it. Grippy off-road and sheds mud well. The centre tread means that it rolls well on-road.
It hasn’t lasted very well though so note that Crossmark are available in two compounds – I’d advise going for the harder compound rather than the softer.
I intend to buy again.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Countrygirl
from Wiltshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great all round cross country tyre

PostedApril 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
Great all round tyre, quick on tracks and enough grip for mud. Easy to fit, highly recommended.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pipkin
from South East
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

nice ride - but not durable

PostedMarch 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: durability
I bought this tyre for a trip to Wales (Afan) and it rode the terrain beautifully. Grips well and is fast. However, the sidewalls are so thin it gashed out on a rock within 30 mins. For lighter XC riding this tyre will be fine.
I now have a UST Tubeless version which has a much more solid sidewall and the same great ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 70a Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sirlancelot
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Crossmark Kevlar tyre

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Fantastic all round tyre. I found it gave me a lot of confidence on fast technical single track, runs well in the wet too.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.