Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

The Vectran Breaker exemplifies Continental's constant innovation in puncture protection. Made from melted Vectra Liquid Crystal Polymer, Vectran is the only LCP fibre in the world, made using a spinning process. Vectran is lightweight, extremely durable, resistant to water, is five times stronger than steel. Continental's tyres which include one or sometimes two layers of Vectran under the tread are some of the toughest and lightweight bicycle tyres available With a layer (breaker) of Vectran under the tread, the tyre is protected from punctures more efficiently than with a Nylon double breaker. This is because a single Vectran layer is lighter, more flexible and stronger than the two nylon layers. This is why we updated our GP4Season to include Vectran instead of nylon in late 2007. This tyres also utilises Continental Duraskin. Patented and lightweight sidewall protection. An extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres.
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 122 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
117 out of 122(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wurzelino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect. That is all.

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, grippy, puncture proof, easy to fit
It's hard for me to convey how delighted I am by these tyres.
This, therefore, is not going to be one of my lengthy, wordy reviews. I will simply tell you that they are perfect. Just look at my list of "pros" and it tells the story. Not only is it one of the most perfect tyres I've ridden on in terms of its balance of comfort, light weight, speed and grip but I've now clicked over 1000 miles on gravel, mud, and frankly disgracefully maintained country roads ... and, wait for it, not one puncture. Not one. In 1000 miles.
Buy 'em. That is all.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yellowbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter tyre

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I selected these tyres after researching many winter tyre reports I was looking for a tyre with rubber that works in sub zero temperatures. These tyres fit the bill, they always stay soft and grip regardless of the conditions.
They also have a puncture protection band which gives you confidence, on cold winter evenings. The main report that convinced me was on the Continental website by a German Bike magazine. First class product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fidoedidoe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I took a long time deciding on these and so far (200 miles) I'm very pleased with my selection (even more so with 39% discount).
Coming from factory fitted Espoir Sport Blackbelt x 2, I wanted a good "all rounder" with some protection, a little weight saving compared to previous and a little more performance/grip in changeable weather. My training takes me on tarmac beachside cycle paths (plenty of pebbles/grit/sand) and the b roads of the south downs (usual mix of grit/glass/potholes).
I've taken the advice of others here, ensuring tyre pressures are always correctly set before heading off (i use 100 psi, could probably go a touch higher).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GT3161
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great Allrounder

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought a pair for all round use rather than outright speed. So far I have 150 miles and am really happy. Handling is very assured on dry tarmac and the grip on loose surfaces has been much better than I expected.
The size is smaller than the label so go a size larger than you think. I went for the 28 which measures 26 on the bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bmlbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Great tyre

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Quick, smooth, little road resistance. A little pricey, but worth the extra cash.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bikeulele
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ripped beading after first ride

PostedApril 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, great grip on cobbled corners
Cons: Expensive
Having considered all the tyre options for riding the pave of Tour of Flanders I finally went for 25c Conti 4 Seasons clinchers at low-ish pressure (I resisted the temptation of £100 carbon seatposts and endless rolls of bar tape). The first time I used these the day before the ride, the front blew. Clearly visible was a rip in the beading, allowing any old bits of road to get in. The only available replacement was a Schwalbe Lugano 23 - luckily perfect warm dry conditions on the day meant that this tyre was absolutely fine. Very disappointed in the Conti, despite the fact that the rear performed faultlessly for every inch of cobbles. Evans have been great about dealing with the returns etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Added confidence on damp roads

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got these due to the relentless bad weather in the UK lately and wish I'd bought them sooner. They've given me increased confidence while descending and cornering in the damp and rain, feel really grippy and look great too.
I got the 25C tyres which appear slightly thinner than the Bontrager 25C tyres they replaced, meaning I can run them underneath Crud Road Racers without rubbing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
twowheelsbetter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast, grippy and tough

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, excellent grip
Cons: Expensive
Clearly no tyre can be lightweight, tough, grippy and fast, but the GP 4 season seem to have the right balance for me personally. The grip seems excellent, even in the wet and with loose gravel, inspiring confidence on descents. The 25mm width looks big on my Mavic rims but the lower pressure does ensure a subtle improvement in comfort and, although they don't feel faster, my average speeds have improved.
Time will tell regarding durability and puncture resistance but very satisfied so far. Not the cheapest tyres but, in my opinion, tyres are not the place to save a few quid, worth paying for quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shawny
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast rolling, grippy tyre.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, roll nicely
Cons: Expensive, puncture protection not as good as led to believe
Bought these in 700x28 for my CX Bike to replace my Durano Plus tyres. I bought the 4 Seasons after reading good reviews. These tyres are lite, roll nicely and grip well, then I went out on wet roads, 2 punctures one rear and one front within 20 miles resulting in a 4 mm split in front tyre. Both flats caused by small flints. If you want above average puncture protection they`re good, if you want better puncture protection then go for heavier slower rolling tyres like the Durano/marathon Plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
junning

very good product and good design

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
very good product and good design.
it give stable drive to me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steviec66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, bombproof
Cons: none
After trying a number of so called "puncture proof" tyres and still getting punctures every few weeks, I tried a set of these.
A revelation!
After 2 months no punctures. Then I started training for Lands end to john o'groats - 1000 miles later still no punctures.
Then i did LEJOG (scenic route of 1210 miles) and still no punctures.
I was the only person to complete the ride puncture free, even with all the glass strewn cycle paths around Glasgow.
The average number of punctures per cyclist on the trip was 6 over 16 days of cycling. One unfortunate had 18, the next best to my 0 was 4.
I have ridden 800 miles since LEJOG and still going strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oakesy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good puncture resistance and easy to fit!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy fit
Bought these in 25mm for sportive season. Just wanted a fit and forget tyre that would be good all year round. I've done nearly 500km on them this month, including Cheshire Cat, and they're great in all conditions. No punctures so far. Fitted them without tyre levers which is a big bonus. I have marathon plus on my commuting hybrid which were near impossible to fit even with tyre levers. the thought of changing them on a winter commute makes me shudder, no such worries with these though. Hopefully they will continue to please!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fernsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great tyres in both wet and dry conditions. Just got back from a ride which had rain, hail and sun and felt secure in all of these conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will17
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light and Comfortable

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Was hesitant as this was my 1st continental tyres, but after reading several reviews online I decided to give it a try. Completed my longest dist ride of 160km with this and the difference is simply amazing. It was just as durable as my previous hard case all weather bontrager tyres, I had no problems riding over some offroad mainly uneven surface with gravels but more imptly it is much lighter, making my ride much faster and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonathan46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre for all weathers.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have used these for the past year. They roll well and are quite puncture resistant. I think the rear is good for 1000 miles or so but once flints start to get through, time to change the tyre
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Timbers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Fantastic set of tyres

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, puncture resistant
Cons: Expensive
I bought these for cycling around London, and while they are pricey, I think they are definitely worth the money. They feel just as fast as my old tyres, but yet are far more puncture resistant. They also have fantastic performance in the wet, and inspire confidence at high speed. They are surviving London roads pretty well, and that's a test for any cycling product...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeilG38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre for british roads

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Changed these tyres having had the 4000s x23 on - both perform really well and roll exceptionally. These 25's just give you that extra comfort on british roads with it's potholes and damaged surfaces to contend with. No punctures yet having done approx 100 miles on them. The extra grip gives confidence on corners and wet surfaces
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cobbles

Very good all-rounder

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Perfect tyre for training, little worries for punctures if the road gets a bit rough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Durable and reliable

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, tough
I picked this tyre since a number of cycling friends use them. It's great in the flinty back lanes of Hampshire and appears much more resilient and resistant to punctures than other "reinforced" tyres I've used. Thoroughly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pete60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great puncture resistance

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bought these tyres for training around the lanes of Herts & Essex but have already used them on a 80 mile sportive and found little or no difference in rolling ride to a slick race tyre.
Very pleased with the overall performance, I recommend these tyres to the committed sportive rider like myself and furthermore recommend the service and delivery received from Evans on line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>