Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

The Vectran Breaker exemplifies Continental's constant innovation in puncture protection. Made from melted Vectra Liquid Crystal Polymer, Vectran is the only LCP fibre in the world, made using a spinning process. Vectran is lightweight, extremely durable, resistant to water, is five times stronger than steel. Continental's tyres which include one or sometimes two layers of Vectran under the tread are some of the toughest and lightweight bicycle tyres available With a layer (breaker) of Vectran under the tread, the tyre is protected from punctures more efficiently than with a Nylon double breaker. This is because a single Vectran layer is lighter, more flexible and stronger than the two nylon layers. This is why we updated our GP4Season to include Vectran instead of nylon in late 2007. This tyres also utilises Continental Duraskin. Patented and lightweight sidewall protection. An extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres.
Overall rating:
4.62 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 158 reviews
5 Stars
115
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
151 out of 158(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wurzelino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect. That is all.

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, grippy, puncture proof, easy to fit
It's hard for me to convey how delighted I am by these tyres.
This, therefore, is not going to be one of my lengthy, wordy reviews. I will simply tell you that they are perfect. Just look at my list of "pros" and it tells the story. Not only is it one of the most perfect tyres I've ridden on in terms of its balance of comfort, light weight, speed and grip but I've now clicked over 1000 miles on gravel, mud, and frankly disgracefully maintained country roads ... and, wait for it, not one puncture. Not one. In 1000 miles.
Buy 'em. That is all.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yellowbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter tyre

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I selected these tyres after researching many winter tyre reports I was looking for a tyre with rubber that works in sub zero temperatures. These tyres fit the bill, they always stay soft and grip regardless of the conditions.
They also have a puncture protection band which gives you confidence, on cold winter evenings. The main report that convinced me was on the Continental website by a German Bike magazine. First class product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grahamsjz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It is good

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This tyre replaced a Specialized Roubaix which in its turn had replaced a Mavic.
Mavic fast and yet supple but puncture prone.
Specialized Roubaix was too hard core and firm for me - no punctures
Conti 4 Seasons was somewhere in between for comfort and no punctures yet (hope I done regret typing that).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
badbully
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great all year tyre.

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: great grip, water repelling
After being plagued with punctures, I have fitted these. After 300+ mls, so-far-so-good. Hold the road very well in the wet. These are a fit and forget tyre for all seasons. Get the Kevlar rims to save on weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomB83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent all weather tyre

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just returned from a week cycling in the Cairngorms the tyres performed excellently in a wide range of weather conditions. Will continue to use now as a winter training tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
welshwizard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Disappointed

PostedOctober 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
These came fitted to my BMC Granfondo. Did about 400 miles and noticed that side walls looked cracked. in the middle of a sportive - bang !! 2 inch split and a flat in the back. Managed to limp home after tube change in pouring rain and bought marathon pluses for both wheels. Have run these on other cycles for several years and never had a flat. When off the wheel you realize how thin these Contis are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firedaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

The best tyres money can buy!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, the only tyres you'll ever need
Cons: Expensive
I've used many tyres before but the continental GATORSKIN range takes some beating and these Gran prix 4 season are the best all round tyre money can buy! Not much more to say! Expensive but tyres are the one thing keeping you on the road so they are worth every penny and if you find them cheaper then Evans normally price match..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
barleycove
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Great puncture resistance quality and as the name says a tyre for all seasons. It also has great cut resisance quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craigy100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great product and price.

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fantastic all round tyre, not had a puncture yet!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krantas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good all-rounder

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Being a slightly (a-hem) heavier rider I felt I needed something a bit sturdier and fatter for my Rubaix. These tyres feel great and instil confidence at any speed over any terrain. I often find myself of gravel, and felt distinctly vulnerable on road tyres and suffered far too many punctures. These tyres seem to be holding up brilliantly. Not sure how they effect speed, I certainly havn't noticed any difference on the road and over the loose stuff times have improved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptainCadence
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality tyre

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Although on the pricey side, this tyre is top quality, offering excellent all weather grip and durability. Thoroughly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike314
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

So far, so good

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I ride my bike year round and needed a tire that can put up with all the weather. So far the grand prix 4 seasons hasn't let me down. I also like them because they are also quite slick with just enough tred to get any wet out of the way.
Ask me again in a year and I'll tell you how they are doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robvb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great Tyres

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The only tyres I will use. Only 1 puncture in a year+
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
djnicho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Tyre

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Averaging 6-7k mile per year, I have tried various brands\pricepoints of tyre and always come back to 4seasons. They are expensive (so try to get them in a sale !) but provide excellent puncture resistance coupled with fast rolling pace. Wear rate is also good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobAsia

Early days but promising

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The tyres seem very robust and although they haven't been on long, I'm confident there aren't going to be any issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thomas65

Perfect

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Perfect tyre for all weather conditions. Good puncture resistens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rheicel
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great balance of Price and Performance

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not the lightest tyres but considering the amount of puncture protection, this is a good choice for all round road application.
I am using a pair on all my Audax Ride. They are robust enough to get along country roads while providing great rolling experience.
Tyre is fitted on H+Sons Wide Rims and the fit is good as any other 23C Tyres. Wider rims allows me to run 5-10 PSI less pressure which translates to a more comfortable ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vjc26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good grip, great puncture protection.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Using these for racing crits on puncture prone tracks. Can't really tell the difference between these and conti 4000 or comp tubulars. But have got much less punctures. Expensive at full price but worth it for less puncture changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Notion
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre!

PostedJune 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The tyre is great love the high pressure and also the stickiness of the rubber to the touch.
Great product and will be looking to get another for front tyre!
Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaroA
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
No complains. Good product. Still have to test it in adverse weather conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>