Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

The Vectran Breaker exemplifies Continental's constant innovation in puncture protection. Made from melted Vectra Liquid Crystal Polymer, Vectran is the only LCP fibre in the world, made using a spinning process. Vectran is lightweight, extremely durable, resistant to water, is five times stronger than steel. Continental's tyres which include one or sometimes two layers of Vectran under the tread are some of the toughest and lightweight bicycle tyres available With a layer (breaker) of Vectran under the tread, the tyre is protected from punctures more efficiently than with a Nylon double breaker. This is because a single Vectran layer is lighter, more flexible and stronger than the two nylon layers. This is why we updated our GP4Season to include Vectran instead of nylon in late 2007. This tyres also utilises Continental Duraskin. Patented and lightweight sidewall protection. An extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres.
Overall rating:
4.616 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 146 reviews
5 Stars
105
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
140 out of 146(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wurzelino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect. That is all.

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, grippy, puncture proof, easy to fit
It's hard for me to convey how delighted I am by these tyres.
This, therefore, is not going to be one of my lengthy, wordy reviews. I will simply tell you that they are perfect. Just look at my list of "pros" and it tells the story. Not only is it one of the most perfect tyres I've ridden on in terms of its balance of comfort, light weight, speed and grip but I've now clicked over 1000 miles on gravel, mud, and frankly disgracefully maintained country roads ... and, wait for it, not one puncture. Not one. In 1000 miles.
Buy 'em. That is all.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yellowbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter tyre

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I selected these tyres after researching many winter tyre reports I was looking for a tyre with rubber that works in sub zero temperatures. These tyres fit the bill, they always stay soft and grip regardless of the conditions.
They also have a puncture protection band which gives you confidence, on cold winter evenings. The main report that convinced me was on the Continental website by a German Bike magazine. First class product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobAsia

Early days but promising

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The tyres seem very robust and although they haven't been on long, I'm confident there aren't going to be any issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thomas65

Perfect

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Perfect tyre for all weather conditions. Good puncture resistens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rheicel
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great balance of Price and Performance

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not the lightest tyres but considering the amount of puncture protection, this is a good choice for all round road application.
I am using a pair on all my Audax Ride. They are robust enough to get along country roads while providing great rolling experience.
Tyre is fitted on H+Sons Wide Rims and the fit is good as any other 23C Tyres. Wider rims allows me to run 5-10 PSI less pressure which translates to a more comfortable ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vjc26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good grip, great puncture protection.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Using these for racing crits on puncture prone tracks. Can't really tell the difference between these and conti 4000 or comp tubulars. But have got much less punctures. Expensive at full price but worth it for less puncture changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Notion
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre!

PostedJune 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The tyre is great love the high pressure and also the stickiness of the rubber to the touch.
Great product and will be looking to get another for front tyre!
Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaroA
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
No complains. Good product. Still have to test it in adverse weather conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrisbikefish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great all round tyre

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
great tyre for all weather conditions, all surfaces, and puncture resistant for the daily commute
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpeedyBoris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not a single puncture in 1000km of use!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I may have been lucky and I'm probably tempting fate by boasting about not receiving a single puncture in over 1000km but I will be keeping these tyres on my road bike all year rather than reverting to the 4000s which I used last year.
Grip appears to be similar to the 4000s but, as well as the lack of punctures, the casing nor the rubber have suffered the cuts from the local surrey roads and debris. Wear also appears to be good and the rear isn't showing signs of squaring off.
They're not cheap but when the tyres have discounts applied, these represent good value for money for a quality product which reduces the hassle of flats on long rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rowingnick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

8 ride outs so far so good

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Too early to say how robust on dodgy surfaces but certainly give a comfy ride and good grip I the wet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PKMCXRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wow! What a difference...

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, low rolling resistance
Bought these to go on my Cyclocross bike (Boardman CX Team 2014) to replace the 35c Schwalbe Rapid Robs that the bike came with.
The Rapid Robs are a pretty tough tyre, although quite draggy on the road. My rides are a mix of (mostly) tarmac and some tow paths next to a river with a crushed stone/sand surface and a number of cattle grids and the Rapid Robs handled it all well. But, I felt sure a narrower, slicker tyre would roll faster and would suit most of my riding throughout the Summer and Autumn.
The Conti GP 4 Season tyres in a 28c were simple enough (strong thumbs required) to put on the rims and, wow, the bike now feels so much quicker on the road and actively accelerates freewheeling down hills, where the Rapid Robs would hold me at roughly the same speed. There's not much difference when climbing a hill, but they are a very grippy tyre giving me confidence in fast corners and obviously a very tough construction, as I've ridden along the tow path and done some flinty covered surfaces on unmade roads and, so far, I'm puncture free.
I bought some Continental inner tubes (Slim Touring 700c) to go with these tyres and I'm delighted with the whole set up. I run them at 95psi which gives a firm but compliant ride on my bike.
Can thoroughly recommend this tyre if your ride is road biased with the ability to go off road on smoothish surfaces if you want.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WhiteDog86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres, good grip, no punctures.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these to replace standard tyres on my Giant Defy.
I wanted something durable as an all round training tyre for use around city roads as well as open country roads that would stop me picking up punctures from debris around town on my way out to my normal routes.
I also wanted a bit more comfort so went for the 25mm, and so far am not disappointed, no punctures yet, although not many miles put on them, so can't comment on long term durability yet.
They are quite a tight fit, but went on my Fulcrum wheels easily enough with a bit of washing up liquid.
They are quite expensive, although reduced from RRP from Evans, but am hoping their durability will save the cost of further tubes/tyres in the long run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Koisa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The best Continental tyre.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I only gave it 4 stars because I only have it on my bike for the last 2 weeks. It looks very strong and feels better then my previous one (Continental Grand Prix). So far so good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RIichardgasman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hard wearing puncture resistant tyre

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have just cycled LEJOG on these tyres - just over 900 miles in 9 days. Minimal wear and only one puncture.+ no complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Easy to fit

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
... and no punctures so far! Recommended by husband who has used same tyre for 6+ months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivarsson
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Trustworthy allrounders

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, grip
Continental seem to now what they are doing. Have tried these in 25 and 28 mm width and they are comfortable, easy rolling, for the type, with a good grip in wet conditions on tarmac and on hard dirt tracks. They just feel smooth, easy and secure. Durability seem good too. Puncture, well I've had one, on the side wheres there no puncture protection, this when hitting a loose bit of iron near a construction site. They are not cheap, but still so good value that expensive isn't a con.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sy677
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Nice tyres, good grip.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Touch wood I haven't had a puncture yet and I've been riding over some nasty road grit lately. The 25 width smooths the road a bit more than other 23 tyres I've used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
John569877
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wasn't strong enough for me

PostedMay 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I chose this tyre for a race with off road sectors due to it's claimed high strength however I punctured on the second off road sector, putting me out of contention. They do however look good and I'm sure they'll make a decent training tyre now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Onedesi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfort in abundance and smooth rolling, fabulous!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought a pair of these for my specialized tricross as I had gone from the standard 32c down to a bone shaking 23c Gatorskin in the pursuit of speed.
Unfortunately a recent fall in no small part down to the nervousness of bring bounced around on the rode led me to seek out a more comfy, grippy tyre than the Gatorskins but not as slow to gain momentum as my 32c's.
I deliberated a lot between the 4 Season and the GP4000s and in the end plumped for the 4 Season due to the better sidewall protection in the 28c size.
I think WOW sums it up!
They are so quiet whilst rolling and really grippy so inspire more confidence, I'm not rolling as fast as before but then again I'm not the fittest and I do find that the initial strokes to get up to speed are harder but once rolling the comfort is outstanding.
I do sometimes wonder if I should get a set of GP4000s to compare but then when I ride on these the comfort makes the need to compare less urgent.
I'd wholeheartedly recommend these tyres, probably my best upgrade to date on any bike, I'll never use 23c again and my posterior is already celebrating :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>