Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

The Vectran Breaker exemplifies Continental's constant innovation in puncture protection. Made from melted Vectra Liquid Crystal Polymer, Vectran is the only LCP fibre in the world, made using a spinning process. Vectran is lightweight, extremely durable, resistant to water, is five times stronger than steel. Continental's tyres which include one or sometimes two layers of Vectran under the tread are some of the toughest and lightweight bicycle tyres available With a layer (breaker) of Vectran under the tread, the tyre is protected from punctures more efficiently than with a Nylon double breaker. This is because a single Vectran layer is lighter, more flexible and stronger than the two nylon layers. This is why we updated our GP4Season to include Vectran instead of nylon in late 2007. This tyres also utilises Continental Duraskin. Patented and lightweight sidewall protection. An extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres.
Overall rating:
4.635 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(203 reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 203 reviews
5 Stars
150
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
194 out of 203Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect. That is all.

Posted18 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, grippy, puncture proof, easy to fit
It's hard for me to convey how delighted I am by these tyres.
This, therefore, is not going to be one of my lengthy, wordy reviews. I will simply tell you that they are perfect. Just look at my list of "pros" and it tells the story. Not only is it one of the most perfect tyres I've ridden on in terms of its balance of comfort, light weight, speed and grip but I've now clicked over 1000 miles on gravel, mud, and frankly disgracefully maintained country roads ... and, wait for it, not one puncture. Not one. In 1000 miles.
Buy 'em. That is all.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter tyre

Posted03 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I selected these tyres after researching many winter tyre reports I was looking for a tyre with rubber that works in sub zero temperatures. These tyres fit the bill, they always stay soft and grip regardless of the conditions.
They also have a puncture protection band which gives you confidence, on cold winter evenings. The main report that convinced me was on the Continental website by a German Bike magazine. First class product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Bullet proof tyre

Posted01 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I replaced an old gatorskin type with this, and it is much better. Feels better on the road and offers better puncture protection in my opinion. I have used these before on an old commuter and they took a beating, but kept me going over 3 winters. Pricey, but worth it not to have to change inner tubes in the cold. For commuting/winter training I highly recommend these tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

New tyres

Posted02 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought these tyres because I ride on fairly rough roads and through winter there is more debris on the roads & cycle paths that I use. Also I have gone for the 700 # 25 tyre size over the 700 # 23 for more comfort (can in inflate to 90 psi rather than 110).
I have done approx 200 miles on these tyres so far and I am extremely happy with them. Evans price matched them to £31.99 which I believe is quite good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This tyre gives me the confidence to be out in any weather and I know that I'll still have the grip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cambridge

Excellent tyre

Posted12 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Excellent tyre for riding in winter... possible not the most durable or best for puncture resistance. But they pull off the tricky juggling act, of balancing grip, weight and durability very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

great tyres

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, grip
Easy to put on the rim.
Comfy ride and good grip even in the rain.
I don't know how puncture resistant they are, I have had very few of those anyway but they seem very resistant to pot holes and those irritating cracks in the roads surface.
Over 30 years cycling I've never been let down by Continental products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Posted25 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
A good quality product,very light and durable. No punctures yet on some very gritty and rough roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Notting Hill

Performance and reliability

Posted21 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cycling a minimum of 13 miles a day 6 days a week on London roads, these tyres lasted 9 months, comfortably! Great value for top quality tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Great winter tyre

Posted18 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not fitted for long but seem rock solid with plenty of grip as winter comes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Great winter tyre for cycling fast

Posted17 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
You won't read many negative reviews of the Continental GP 4 season tyre and for good reason. A tried and tested product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent winter tyre

Posted08 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good puncture resilience
Cons: Expensive
Fantastic balance of performance and winter robustness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Durable and light

Posted28 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Was recommended these tyres for hill ascents as this is not my forte. I put them straight on my bike and took off for a charity cycle in India. I was the only person riding a road bike on mountainous terrain with everyone else on mountain bikes. I love these wheels they made the hills easier and coped superbly with pot holes,rough terrain...everything southern India could throw at me including monsoon torrential rain. Light durable and totally reliable in adverse conditions. They could look better but that's only my opinion. Rest superb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Confidence riding in London

Posted26 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is my second set of Continental tyres. Overall I am very pleased with the performance and confidence I get when riding over debris in London's crowded streets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Sticks to the road like...

Posted18 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Been recommended by a friend, not been disappointed so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Good grip in wet weather, puncture protection, good durability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great training tyres

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, puncture protection, good grip, not too heavy
Very good puncture protection without sacrificing ride feel or grip.
If you're not after super lightweight then these are a no brainer.
I have the conti hardshell on my out and out winter hack and they are also good but you do know you've got them on. I think if they ever wear out I'll be putting these 4 seasons on that bike as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Very good all round training tyre

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great year round all weather training tyre. While being extra grippy and puncture resistant it doesn't compromise much on speed or weight.
Have used for years and would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Not worth the money

Posted14 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, hard to fit
I am really unhappy with these tyres. Within only a few weeks I had my first puncture and I've never come across a trye that's so difficult to fit to the rim...so when I did have my puncture I was stuck in the rain for ages while trying to change it. Will definitely go for another brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Recommended

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
I have ridden solidly on these tyres for two weeks thru the Pyrennes and the French Alps without a trouble at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>