Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

The Vectran Breaker exemplifies Continental's constant innovation in puncture protection. Made from melted Vectra Liquid Crystal Polymer, Vectran is the only LCP fibre in the world, made using a spinning process. Vectran is lightweight, extremely durable, resistant to water, is five times stronger than steel. Continental's tyres which include one or sometimes two layers of Vectran under the tread are some of the toughest and lightweight bicycle tyres available With a layer (breaker) of Vectran under the tread, the tyre is protected from punctures more efficiently than with a Nylon double breaker. This is because a single Vectran layer is lighter, more flexible and stronger than the two nylon layers. This is why we updated our GP4Season to include Vectran instead of nylon in late 2007. This tyres also utilises Continental Duraskin. Patented and lightweight sidewall protection. An extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres.
Overall rating:
4.602 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 171 reviews
5 Stars
122
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
163 out of 171Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wurzelino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect. That is all.

Posted18 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, grippy, puncture proof, easy to fit
It's hard for me to convey how delighted I am by these tyres.
This, therefore, is not going to be one of my lengthy, wordy reviews. I will simply tell you that they are perfect. Just look at my list of "pros" and it tells the story. Not only is it one of the most perfect tyres I've ridden on in terms of its balance of comfort, light weight, speed and grip but I've now clicked over 1000 miles on gravel, mud, and frankly disgracefully maintained country roads ... and, wait for it, not one puncture. Not one. In 1000 miles.
Buy 'em. That is all.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yellowbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter tyre

Posted03 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I selected these tyres after researching many winter tyre reports I was looking for a tyre with rubber that works in sub zero temperatures. These tyres fit the bill, they always stay soft and grip regardless of the conditions.
They also have a puncture protection band which gives you confidence, on cold winter evenings. The main report that convinced me was on the Continental website by a German Bike magazine. First class product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
epicharold
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Possibly the best winter tyre in the World

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have use theses tyres on wet and icy roads, in areas where they have been hedge cutting, and generally on our less than ideal winter roads all without a problem. With that they are not too heavy and roll well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Great all round tyre for a great price

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was recommended these by the team in the Chelmsford store and I have not been disappointed. They are tough, puncture resistant and have grip, with no noticeable difference from my slicks. I can now feel comfortable out in this cold wet weather without worrying about slipping over and puncturing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mariachi71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

After 2 flats in quick succession on my brand tyre

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After a few visits to my local Evans and a multitude of questions from an ignoramus, the assistants were exceptionally helpful and even asked me to see if it was a product that they could price match in case I had found it cheaper elsewhere.
the price matchcng helped me save over 20% on the tyre and I am happy to say that i have not had a flat yet (3 rides later) and the tyure feels secure on the ground with excellent grip in the winter training season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TimHB
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Felt great but short lived

Posted10 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: unreliable
The grip, the rolling speed, the weight etc. are all great. But after less than 2 months commuting the side wall gave in and punctured, I'd expect a longer life for such an expensive high end tyre. I've gone for the gatorskin hardshell instead. This could be a one-off fault and I've sent back to continental so we'll wait and see. Shame because the grip really allow for confident riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glenn007
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good winter tyre

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought these for winter conditions. Opted for 25C as well. Great grip and the 25C absorbs more of the road surface than 23C. Will use them for training and switch to 23C for events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MattZ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Solid tires with more grip but no heavier rolling

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These are solid tires that have more grip than Gatorskins and no feel of increased rolling resistance. They feel very confident in the wet and cold of winter which sometimes cannot be said of Gatorskins. Overall solid yet still to early to describe tread wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pete163
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

A great spec - but very hard to fit.

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: hard to fit
These tyres have a great specifiication - very light for such a high degree of puncture protection. On the down side, I found them very hard to fit to the relatively wide rims on my cross bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colin75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Brilliant tyre

Posted02 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have been using these for the last month for my daily commute and I think they're brilliant. No puncture yet with over 200 miles done on pretty awful roads and cycleways, Good grip too. I feel secure in the wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peter69

I recommend

Posted27 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I only did about 60 miles with it bit the first imression is that is a more confortable tyre thanl the specialized armadillo. We'll have to wait and see the performance and durability...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent grip in the winter

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Staff recommended this tyre as a winter training tyre. I wasn't disappointed. Great advice from friendly and helpful staff b
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
William81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great product

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a fantastic tyre, I run gp4000s in the summer and I had been getting a few punctures in the autumn. I done some researching online and this product came highly rated. I've had no punctures since I put them on. Good grip in the wet. It's now starting to get frosty and I've not noticed any change. They don't seem to cause any excess drag against the gp4000s. Well recommended. I use primarily for commuting on my road bike.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
essexrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lived up to expectations!

Posted28 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Many people had recommended these, immediately noticed the extra grip when I switched back to winter wheels with these tyres. Feel much more confident on the slippier roads now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spookydan

Seem like good tyres

Posted25 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've not used them much but so far so good, slightly more comfortable ride in the 25 width and felt good in the wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grahamsjz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It is good

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This tyre replaced a Specialized Roubaix which in its turn had replaced a Mavic.
Mavic fast and yet supple but puncture prone.
Specialized Roubaix was too hard core and firm for me - no punctures
Conti 4 Seasons was somewhere in between for comfort and no punctures yet (hope I done regret typing that).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
badbully
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great all year tyre.

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: great grip, water repelling
After being plagued with punctures, I have fitted these. After 300+ mls, so-far-so-good. Hold the road very well in the wet. These are a fit and forget tyre for all seasons. Get the Kevlar rims to save on weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomB83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent all weather tyre

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just returned from a week cycling in the Cairngorms the tyres performed excellently in a wide range of weather conditions. Will continue to use now as a winter training tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
welshwizard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Disappointed

Posted30 October 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
These came fitted to my BMC Granfondo. Did about 400 miles and noticed that side walls looked cracked. in the middle of a sportive - bang !! 2 inch split and a flat in the back. Managed to limp home after tube change in pouring rain and bought marathon pluses for both wheels. Have run these on other cycles for several years and never had a flat. When off the wheel you realize how thin these Contis are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firedaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

The best tyres money can buy!

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, the only tyres you'll ever need
Cons: Expensive
I've used many tyres before but the continental GATORSKIN range takes some beating and these Gran prix 4 season are the best all round tyre money can buy! Not much more to say! Expensive but tyres are the one thing keeping you on the road so they are worth every penny and if you find them cheaper then Evans normally price match..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>