Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre

The Vectran Breaker exemplifies Continental's constant innovation in puncture protection. Made from melted Vectra Liquid Crystal Polymer, Vectran is the only LCP fibre in the world, made using a spinning process. Vectran is lightweight, extremely durable, resistant to water, is five times stronger than steel. Continental's tyres which include one or sometimes two layers of Vectran under the tread are some of the toughest and lightweight bicycle tyres available With a layer (breaker) of Vectran under the tread, the tyre is protected from punctures more efficiently than with a Nylon double breaker. This is because a single Vectran layer is lighter, more flexible and stronger than the two nylon layers. This is why we updated our GP4Season to include Vectran instead of nylon in late 2007. This tyres also utilises Continental Duraskin. Patented and lightweight sidewall protection. An extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres.
Overall rating:
4.612 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(188 reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 188 reviews
5 Stars
136
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
179 out of 188Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect. That is all.

Posted18 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, grippy, puncture proof, easy to fit
It's hard for me to convey how delighted I am by these tyres.
This, therefore, is not going to be one of my lengthy, wordy reviews. I will simply tell you that they are perfect. Just look at my list of "pros" and it tells the story. Not only is it one of the most perfect tyres I've ridden on in terms of its balance of comfort, light weight, speed and grip but I've now clicked over 1000 miles on gravel, mud, and frankly disgracefully maintained country roads ... and, wait for it, not one puncture. Not one. In 1000 miles.
Buy 'em. That is all.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter tyre

Posted03 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I selected these tyres after researching many winter tyre reports I was looking for a tyre with rubber that works in sub zero temperatures. These tyres fit the bill, they always stay soft and grip regardless of the conditions.
They also have a puncture protection band which gives you confidence, on cold winter evenings. The main report that convinced me was on the Continental website by a German Bike magazine. First class product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Very good all round training tyre

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great year round all weather training tyre. While being extra grippy and puncture resistant it doesn't compromise much on speed or weight.
Have used for years and would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Not worth the money

Posted14 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, hard to fit
I am really unhappy with these tyres. Within only a few weeks I had my first puncture and I've never come across a trye that's so difficult to fit to the rim...so when I did have my puncture I was stuck in the rain for ages while trying to change it. Will definitely go for another brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Recommended

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
I have ridden solidly on these tyres for two weeks thru the Pyrennes and the French Alps without a trouble at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

solid choice as 28mm upgrade for touring bike

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
bought after considerable research into all-season road tyres as a front-tyre upgrade for a friend doing first century; reports so far extremely encouraging: good blend of grip, speed and comfort. 28mm tyre at 80-90psi no less comfortable than the tyre it replaced (a schwalbe marathon 32mm), and less than 1/2 the weight.
Paired with a 28mm continental Grandsport plus on the rear. Noticed the 4season comes up narrow against the Gransport. Not a problem, but the carcass of the 4season is narrower by about 2mm (see pic). Both are folding / Kevlar bead, and officially rated at 28mm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

So far so good

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The tyres look great and so far have handled the odd irregular surface on the roads I travel. They also look a far more all round tyre, rather than the slicks which were on there before. You might compromise some speed but these tyres look much more suited to my kind of riding. Given that they were purchased during a sale a very good piece of business. Thanks to the Lakeside guys for fitting them !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Reliable tyre

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I have had these tyres on my bike for two years or more, well over a 1000 miles with no punctures. Only just had to replace the rear one which was damaged by something pretty sharp during heavy rain. Front one is still doing fine. They are not cheap though. I also find them pretty difficult to get onto the wheel as they are pretty tight/stiff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good Tyres

Posted14 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Sadly had to replace my rear due to a large woodscrew embedded in it...Freaky puncture!...But for that it would still have been on... still had plenty of life left in it at 2500 miles and I can't fault Rolling or Comfort... 700 x28c
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Excellent protection from punctures, still fast

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent protection from punctures, I haven't noticed any loss of speed in my average or top speeds. I bought the tyre at a reduced price but still pricey, however worth it for such a good quality tyre
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Superb tyres

Posted28 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Evans had them in stock when I visited the Waterloo store, gave me advice on tyre choice and price matched them with Wiggle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Hardy yet fast

Posted10 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cycling in London and out to Surrey Hills means punctures galore given the quality of the capital's roads and minute flints which litter the country roads after rain. Conti's 4 Season tyres mean you don't spend half your ride by the side of the road patching punctures, rather you are more likely to be passing others struggling with miniature pumps and tight beading. I use them throughout the year, now, as even in the dry they are quick enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

What a Relief!

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, good wet grip, fast rolling, relax and enjoy
I had been running Vittoria Zaffiro's original equipment on my Road bike with no flats but 15 bikes with flats in first 5 miles of the Windsor Sportive told me my luck might run out soon! Chatting to Rob in Guildford branch, while my road bike was being worked on, he produced a pair of these Conti 4 Seasons 25s and they have transformed my cycling. No longer am I apprehensive about flats and as recommended they roll fast, have great grip and give a less harsh ride than the All Condition Armadillo 28s on my winter trainer! "Enjoy The Ride" indeed I really do now rain or shine and with "price match" what a bargain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super comfortable, grippy too

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I'd been using narrower tyres, but after a couple of 100 miles on these, I have to wonder why I stuck for so long on a width that frankly didn't give any advantage. These are really comfortable and robust: I have already ploughed through the sort of road conditions that had given me a few punctures over the past couple of months, and have come through them quite happily.
A bonus is that they were easy to get onto the rims (I've had to wrestle with some folding tyres in the past); that alone gives them a high rating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted26 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are great tyres for puncture résistance, I have picked out small shards of glass what have not completely penetrated. They are excellent all round tyres, good in wet and dry, I am more confident with these towards punctures than other tyres I have used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great all round tyre

Posted26 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tuff
I cycle in the countryside, bumpy roads, stones and gravel, potholes. This tyre soaks them all up and still has good speed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Grippy. Puncture resistant - ideal all year round

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is an ideal example of the cliche saying.- does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Top product

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Brilliant product. Took this to the Tour of Flanders and it lasted the whole 150 miles with no problems what so ever over the cobbles.
Ride is smooth and although you can feel a little resistance compared to normal tyres, it's nothing to bother your ride.
Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

So far, so very good

Posted03 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Wanted to upgrade my tyres after several punctures and so far no punctures, smooth riding and much more confidence on each ride, some of which have been in difficult, puncture-inviting conditions. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4 Season 700C Folding Duraskin Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Possibly the best winter tyre in the World

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have use theses tyres on wet and icy roads, in areas where they have been hedge cutting, and generally on our less than ideal winter roads all without a problem. With that they are not too heavy and roll well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>