Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre

The carbon filler particles within the rubber compound are reduced to 1/10th of the size of standard carbon particles. This creates a closer knit with the particles having more points of contact with each other, thus forming a tighter bond, (increasing mileage performance) and also with the road (increasing grip). Also the way in which the particles interact with each other has a dramatic effect on reducing rolling resistance. Black Chili is used by several ProTour and Continental teams as shown opposite. The all new Vectran breaker belt, developed and patented by Continental, surpasses even the famous puncture resistance of the former leader in this category, the GP3000. The extremely strong Vectran fabrics are more flexible and lighter than all other puncture protection materials. Vectran offers more resistance to cuts than Aramid, is five times as strong as steel and features less weight than a nylon double breaker. It also maintains strength in the wet.
Overall rating:
4.669 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 248 reviews
5 Stars
193
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
238 out of 248(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eoinca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

Posted22 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have to admit, i never knew chaning tyres would make such a huge difference in bike handling.
These are a great set of tyres, rolling resistant is very low, while also maintaining quite high grip. Going to buy another set for my backup bike.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hoisin
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding grip and puncture protection

Posted29 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, outstanding wet grip, amazing puncture protection, wear indicator on tread
I have used GP4000S tyres exclusively for the past few years in conditions ranging from zero degrees Celsius temperatures, gravel paths (not intentionally), and in heavy rain. I have seen glass embedded in my tyre and my sidewalls have been cut but yet I honestly can't remember the last time I actually got a puncture in over 10,000 km....excluding pinch flats, which are not a fault of the tyre. I previously had stock Specialized road tires that came with my new bike and were very scary to ride in the rain with almost no wet road traction, whereas these tires have amazing traction and will definitely give you confidence riding in wet weather! The wear indicator dots in the middle of the tread are also very helpful in letting you know when to replace the tyres. Online reviews also suggest this tyre has one of the lowest tested rolling resistances of any road clincher tyres compared with other major competitors, which can't hurt!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charlie128
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A MUST BUY

Posted23 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Solid tyre. Much easier to fit than others. Noticeable increase in grip compared to my old Michelin Pro 3s especially when cornering fast. Just did the London Olympic distance Triathlon with these and they bossed it. I would feel comfortable riding these in the wet and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a top type.
The tyre in a little heavier and larger in profile and width (comparing to the Pro 3) due probably to puncture resistance but this is so negligible and all the massive advantages to the tyre outweigh this...plus you're less likely to puncture. All round a great tyre and when on offer is a must buy!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sallyb
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit
I bought this tyre as an upgrade to the existing ones on my bike as I wanted a tyre that would be less likely to puncture - so far so good. This tyre is relatively easy to fit, compared to other tyres that I have struggled with and you can really notice a difference with the grip when you ride. A great investment.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucstm
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent all conditions tyre

Posted12 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought 2 pairs of these tyres and they're amazing. They feel glued to the ground and have a great rolling compound which performs equally well in the wet. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
unidude
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

grippy tyre, good puncture resistance

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: begrude paying high cost for tyre
Excellent grip. Even to the rim !
Need metal tyre levers to remove. Could be rim though.
Seems to be good puncture resistance, use for work and recreation.
Will buy again, when due.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vossie
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great compromise of performance and durability

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have used many of these tyres, and they consistently provide good puncture resistance whilst being quick enough to use in racing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
garym4788

Brilliant - will use these all the time now

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fast / grippy / no punctures or signs of wear so far (c600 miles). My new favourite tyre - I've just ordered some more from Evans for my other bike whilst on sale :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aaron21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great All Round Tyre

Posted22 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, puncture resistance
Cons: Expensive
Great all round tyre that has low rolling resistance in the dry and grip in the wet. Perfect for the british summer with changing weather conditions. Good puncture resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mork98746321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

This product has some great features

Posted19 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality, reasonably priced, stood the test of time. You try riding the roads of Kent with anything else on your rims!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MaldonSid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast but punctures

Posted19 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, fast, good grip
Cons: puncture resistance
Upgraded from Gatorskin to GP4000s. Good grip and fast but I have had a lot more punctures on this tyre compared to previous! Might be good tyre for clean roads but not lanes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoffeeLover
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great Tyres

Posted12 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
excellent value, long lasting , quality tyre simple to fit well made
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darksummer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic tyre with all-round capability

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are truly great all round tyres. In my opinion they offer the best combination of suppleness, puncture resistance and grip in all weathers. For all this they are lightweight too. With Evans price match they're a good price as well. Highly recommended !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cloisters
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My preferred tyre for summer

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Always impressed with Conti tyres. I use hardshell in the winter and 4000S in summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Belders
Country:United Kingdom

Posted28 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This tyre gives a good level of grip in the wet & the dry.
The tyre doesn't seem to cut up like other tyres I've tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stampy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Buy these tyres!!! great value

Posted26 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great tyres I have tried all the rest these are by far the best value and are long lasting. look great, quality materials used, good rolling resistance, great confidence in the tyres in all weather.
I used my Tesco club card vouchers to pay for some of the order very simple to do, just visit Tesco website when your vouchers come in and select Evans cycles they email or post you vouchers.
One very happy customer excellent delivery service as usual !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast!

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
The first thing you will notice on your first ride is how fast they are!
There is an obvious difference between these and the old Team Armadillo's fitted a few years ago. Great quality, functional, fast and grippy. Haven't yet used them in wet conditions but I trust they will do well.
Really great tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
prisky1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted21 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Exceptional tyre, has excellent rolling resistance and extremely reassuring grip in the corners and on descents. Although it's a pretty soft rubber offers good puncture resistance. It's a 5 star tyre all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hope
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted20 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great tyres ...great grip.........second set as worn the others out after a lot of miles no punctures.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
marineredeben
Country:Denmark
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best tyres for the price

Posted19 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these tyres because I hated puncturing on my ultra sports. And if I was going to buy new tyres, why not buy some fast ones too? Gp4000s have exceeded my expectations, no flats yet, and they are very comfortable, even when inflated to 8 bar. Additionally, they are very quick, and they have increased my avg. speed by about 1 km/h, compared to my ultra sports. Great tyres for a great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>