Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre

The carbon filler particles within the rubber compound are reduced to 1/10th of the size of standard carbon particles. This creates a closer knit with the particles having more points of contact with each other, thus forming a tighter bond, (increasing mileage performance) and also with the road (increasing grip). Also the way in which the particles interact with each other has a dramatic effect on reducing rolling resistance. Black Chili is used by several ProTour and Continental teams as shown opposite. The all new Vectran breaker belt, developed and patented by Continental, surpasses even the famous puncture resistance of the former leader in this category, the GP3000. The extremely strong Vectran fabrics are more flexible and lighter than all other puncture protection materials. Vectran offers more resistance to cuts than Aramid, is five times as strong as steel and features less weight than a nylon double breaker. It also maintains strength in the wet.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(210 reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 210 reviews
5 Stars
161
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
200 out of 210(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eoinca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have to admit, i never knew chaning tyres would make such a huge difference in bike handling.
These are a great set of tyres, rolling resistant is very low, while also maintaining quite high grip. Going to buy another set for my backup bike.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hoisin
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding grip and puncture protection

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, outstanding wet grip, amazing puncture protection, wear indicator on tread
I have used GP4000S tyres exclusively for the past few years in conditions ranging from zero degrees Celsius temperatures, gravel paths (not intentionally), and in heavy rain. I have seen glass embedded in my tyre and my sidewalls have been cut but yet I honestly can't remember the last time I actually got a puncture in over 10,000 km....excluding pinch flats, which are not a fault of the tyre. I previously had stock Specialized road tires that came with my new bike and were very scary to ride in the rain with almost no wet road traction, whereas these tires have amazing traction and will definitely give you confidence riding in wet weather! The wear indicator dots in the middle of the tread are also very helpful in letting you know when to replace the tyres. Online reviews also suggest this tyre has one of the lowest tested rolling resistances of any road clincher tyres compared with other major competitors, which can't hurt!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charlie128
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A MUST BUY

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Solid tyre. Much easier to fit than others. Noticeable increase in grip compared to my old Michelin Pro 3s especially when cornering fast. Just did the London Olympic distance Triathlon with these and they bossed it. I would feel comfortable riding these in the wet and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a top type.
The tyre in a little heavier and larger in profile and width (comparing to the Pro 3) due probably to puncture resistance but this is so negligible and all the massive advantages to the tyre outweigh this...plus you're less likely to puncture. All round a great tyre and when on offer is a must buy!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sallyb
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit
I bought this tyre as an upgrade to the existing ones on my bike as I wanted a tyre that would be less likely to puncture - so far so good. This tyre is relatively easy to fit, compared to other tyres that I have struggled with and you can really notice a difference with the grip when you ride. A great investment.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucstm
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent all conditions tyre

PostedJune 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought 2 pairs of these tyres and they're amazing. They feel glued to the ground and have a great rolling compound which performs equally well in the wet. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sniffer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyre, great value

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Went with the 25mm as somewhat of an experiment, over the moon. They roll along great and the extra width does a great job at absorbing the road buzz. Great value at under £30 would certainly recommend these tyres
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brokenbeats
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Love these - easy to fit, confidence inspiring and came in at 218g each (25mm)...this coupled with Evans cycles super service = excellent purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ecxellent in every way!!!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good quality,very smooth, excellent grip, looks great on the bike and you just going faster!!! I have already bought another pair for future use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit, good grip. Too early to assess durability but it's a German product so should last
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good grip. Relatively good puncture resistant

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, reduced punctures
These are the best compromise I've found so far for speed vs puncture proof. I use them on all my bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Funkingbaxter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best road bike tyre available

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, durable, long lasting, grips well
I've tried several different road tyres over the years, and found nothing matches the GP4000S for its price / grip / durability / weight
Recently started using 25mm rather than 23mm; improved comfort with no noticeable loss in performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TMH67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seem to match the hype!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Had lots of recommendations. Evans customer service very helpful with advice and was able to provide exactly what I needed and at a competitive price.
Tyres easy to fit. Look great, no need to spend extra money on the colour sides of the Mk II’s.
Performance so far has been excellent, improved grip in the wet, more confidence on down hills and corners, bike feels more stable and positive handing with the improved connectivity with the road. This being said they seem to roll very well too which seems a contradiction.
I am confident about the puncture protection but not been able to confirm this yet (which must mean its working)
Too early to comment on ware.
They have an excellent reputation that so far mine seem to uphold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ali101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brilliant grip and fast

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
these tyres are so fast and the grip is really good. would not use anything else now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBfettler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
These are my first real race spec tyres and now understand what people mean when they say how supple a tyre is, and it makes things much faster, and unexpectedly slightly more comfortable, but also a bit more likely to pinch flat till I worked out the right pressure for me.
Excellent value when I got mine, £25(ish) each, so well chuffed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeyK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

They're so good, I bought a spare pair!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Incredible performance. These tyres seem to give an impossible mix of characteristics. Fast, grippy, comfortable, precise, stable & hard wearing.
Swapping from a set of Conti Ultra sports, the change is HUGE. The bike feels quicker, corners harder and is way more comfortable. Gone is that tingly buzz from the tarmac.
Given the very soft rubber the tread is made from, the wear is almost non existant, 500 miles in and the rear tyre still has the moulding bobbles on it.
You want a downside? They are just tyres. The bike may go faster, but you still have to pedal it...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xster
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome all round tyre

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great upgrade from stock specialized espoir. Comfortable 25mm, excellent rolling resistance, great with conti 28 race tubes. Excellent delivery time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shellien

Great grip in all conditions

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Have had these for a few weeks now and in that time its been wet, windy and dry. The tyres perform well in all these conditions I felt sturdy even when it was raining. Easy to put on too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluemoon83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Very good all round tyre

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Only ran these for a short time as I changed bikes so these are spare. The grip is noticeable in wet and frosty conditions, they roll very well and did show a slight increase in my times on my regular commute. Didn't get a puncture while they were fitted and as soon as the schwalbes wear out that came on my new bike I will be going back to these. Overall I am very impressed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
woodstar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

the best

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
great brand, great tyre. allways buy this tyre never let me down yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
varak79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have done about 100 miles with them tyres on. No problems so far. Good grip on wet surface.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>