Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"

Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"

Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
67 out of 68(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Great tyres

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was looking to replace my MTB knobblies with more road oriented tyres. Admittedly I was a little confused at first as I was originally after "Continental Ultra-Gatorskins" but as it turns out (and after a bit of research, these are exactly the same tyre, just with a different marketing name on them. The guy in the store was also very helpful in recommending two inner tubes (specialized).
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StevieBee

Excellent value for top rate product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I went in to the local store but it was not in stock. The sales assistant was great, helped me order the right product. It arrived on time and does exactly what I wanted. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
apockett

Very reliable and fast tyres

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Slightly tight to fit, but not too bad. Have been very reliable so far and have very low rolling resistance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watko2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good durability

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Changed my mtb tryes to these for some road riding, they were quick and have faired well. I did 120 mile ride on them and my friend got 4 puncutures and I got none!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brian71
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres for commuting

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Robust construction and they roll really well. Excellent for commuting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dilley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Gator skin

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Not a proper cyclist but these gatorskins have got me nods of approval from the more serious of my biking mates, much less resistance on the roads!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phantom994
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One puncture in 15 months - can't be bad!

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, very puncture resistant
Given to me as a present. I ride a lot on cycle tracks with very fine flint chippings - prior to fitting the Gatorskins probably got a puncture 1 in 3 rides. Since fitting had one in 15 months - work out the cost saving in tubes and repairs and it is a no brainer.
Rolling resistance is low but there is no loss of grip on dry and wet tarmac as far as I can determine.
A highly recommended upgrade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nishido
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased these tyres to replace my nobbly MTB tyres so my morning commute was a little quicker. The puncture resistance was also perfect for me as there's always broken bottles and such along my route. Well these tyres are brilliant. No punctures so far (after a couple hundred miles) and they're amazingly quick. I love them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fm79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tight to fit, but great tyre

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Been using my old MTB as a commuter, bought these to speed up my ride to work. It makes an absolutely huge difference, rolling resistance vastly reduced, the ride's now much easier and faster.
Obvious downsides are the decreased traction on *particularly* slippy surfaces (like rain-slicked manhole covers) and reduced suspension. Both were expected, and neither were as bad as I'd feared. My MTB/commuter does look a bit daft with such skinny wheels on too, but I'll take the style-hit for having a quicker journey to and from work (plus, it looks a lot less nickable now!).
It was tricky to get them on, especially if you're used to nice big kevlar beaded knobbly MTB tyres like me, but it is entirely do-able. Very embarrassing, but I was having such a tough time that I actually popped into the new Sheffield Evans store down the road to check I wasn't about to knacker my new tyres fitting them. I try to do everything on my bike myself, so I did have to swallow a bite or two of pride to go into a bike shop and ask how to fit a tyre... They were massively helpful, though, and gave me a couple of tips which allowed me to fit the tyre myself.
If you're having as much trouble as I was, try fitting as much of the bead as possible, then from the far (fitted) side push the bead further in towards the centre of the rim to free up a bit of play in the tyre. Keep working round from the far side, freeing up more play every time. Then, make sure you are finishing near to the valve, which you can push in a bit to help fit the final bit of the tyre. You should be able to put them on entirely by hand, no tyre-levers needed.
All in all, great tyres and great service. Cheers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EllieMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very good tyres, well worth the money.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
No difficulty in fitting the tyres, very low rolling resistance and I have not experienced any problems with grip during the last months high rainfall. After heavy rain I have suffered from punctures with other tyres in the past (flints etc.. washed off fields). I do approx 130 miles per week and no punctures experienced so far: so all good as far as I am concerned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldDog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

New life in an old dog

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Had an old hardtail sitting in the shed next to my new MTB. I thought do I sell the old bike or shall I pimp it up!!! Decided to buy a pair of these fantastic tyres and boy does the old dog go, great fun.
Would agree that they are a bit on the tight side to fit, but still only took a couple of minutes more than normal.
Buy these and get out on the roads and kick some butt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Diddyfunk
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but make sure you seat them correctly

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I fitted these the same day that I wanted to do my first ride on them. Hence I may have been a bit eager to get them on.
Subsequently I did not seat the bead into the rim the whole way round and as a consequence got a bump effect every time the wheel went round while riding
After getting home I tried to rectify the problem which took me 35 min with some spit and fairy washing up liquid. Do not be afraid to pump these up beyon the recommended PSI as this was the only way for me to get them seated properly. I reduced the PSI to 100 once I had seated the tyre correctly
Apart from that, a good tyre with what seams to be a reasonable amount of grip
Have fun
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dodsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Started to ride my mountain bike more often to work on the roads so swapped tyres to these which make the ride much quicker and smoother. also tough aswell going over pot holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Desart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Whole different riding experience

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These tyre are great, I changed my original 1.5 on my scott sub 30 2005 model to these continental and the difference is staggering, so much faster ,much less drag and much easier to ride in the high gears .
Also find them no problem to put on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MarkN38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Impossible to fit

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: poor fit
I was really looking forward to getting these tyres and enjoying the reduced rolling resistance they promised. However, I only ever managed to get one of the two I'd purchased fitted. I managed to puncture one brand new tube and break a tyre lever trying, in vain, to fit the second one.
Having to battle to get a tyre fitted in the comfort of the garage at home, with warm hands and protective gloves is one thing. The prospect of trying to do this miles from home with freezing fingers in the middle of winter doesn't appeal. So off came the one tyre I'd managed to fit and back on went the old ones.
BTW, the 26" x 1.2" are actually 26" x 1.125" so make sure you get suitable tube. This is Continental's error, goodness knows why?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adolf
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Seems puncture resistent

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Bought these to replace my mountain bike semi slick tyres as was doing around 20 to 30 miles 3 to 4 times a week on the road, as expected it has improved the road speed and handling no end but as an added bonus I have not had a puncture yet which was a regular problem with my other tyres and so far I've covered just under 500 miles. I have these fitted to Mavic D521 wheels with no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Al34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

This product is good value

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased these for road cycling on an MTB. Very pleased and made the journey a lot quicker. Also good for daily commuting. definitely recommend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martyw1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

What a difference!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Put these tyres on my mountain bike (Carrera Vengence), went on a 32 mile cycle and the difference was clear! Did the journey in far less time, and still had energy to spare. Not the easiest to fit, but not excessively difficult, gives the bike a much different look and ride, would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JRaleighAT30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good, fast durable tyre

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased these tyres as i found my off road tyres where wearing out to quick on my rides to the gym, these are brilliant tyres low rolling resistance and super quick, i have never used road slick tyres before and i have yet to have any problems with these have road in the wet with them and seem to have plenty of grip on quick bends too.
Its worth noting you will need to get different innertubes. 1.2-1.5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin Tyre - 26"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FellOffTwice
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a great tyre!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these for my Specialized Stumpjumper to complete the C2C. Other friends said that I would be daft to complete it on my MTB. These tyres produced the ultimate combination and suitable for both on and off road. What a difference they made for me and no punctures (unlike others on their road bikes!) Very thin, superb ride! Not a tyre to be disappointed with! (Got them in the sale too). We followed the 71/7 route and those on road bike were a little wary of the stone/slightly coarser tracks - not me however, I gave it welly! (As fast as I could go anyway).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>