Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.503 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(312 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 312 reviews
5 Stars
194
4 Stars
98
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
296 out of 312Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

Posted27 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

Posted05 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted01 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great poduct which does exactly the job it is supposed to do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Confidence provided

Posted31 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The additional grip on this tyre has given me greater confidence cornering in poor conditions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Reliable puncture resistant tyre

Posted15 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought a bike with these already on and replaced one due to wear and a large chunk of glass! Super quick on the road and resistant to most potential puncture situations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but still had a puncture on first ride

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: faulty
Good, durable and comfortable - however still had a puncture on the first time, might have been poor luck or faulty unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

must buy for hassle free cycling

Posted19 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, rubbish road proof!
Bought pair of Gatoskins to replace an old set. I haven't punctured in 5 years of riding on the old set including a LEJOG and french end to end. It feels like I only carry a spare tube & pump to give to other folks out on the road who haven't bought gators.
They seem to roll as well as other riders and never had any problems with grip on the Scottish roads. If these perform as well as the old ser they'll be well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Bristol

Good all rounder

Posted06 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Good all rounder, more puncture protection than a standard tyre. Not as much as a Schwalbe Marathon but much lighter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Gator skin

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
So far so good time will tell if and when I get a puncture with it. As always Evans price matched so happy with price and quality will definitely get a pair for my comp bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Glasgow

Posted11 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Went into the Glasgow City Centre branch looking for new tubes and tyres and the staff were very helpful in advising me the pros and cons of changing my tyre sizes from 700x23 to 700x28.I decided on the 700x28 Gatorskin and must say what a difference they make.Now all I need to do is get them to do me a deal on a BMC SLR03 ??????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good buy

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good durable tyres, easy to put on, seem tough yet pretty quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Durable road tyre

Posted04 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality tyre for road bikes. With the added puncture protection, this tyre certainly fits the bill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Hard wearing

Posted06 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I have these tyres on both front & back. They are fast and have great durability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
brought these before, just got my self a new bicycle, and the first thing i buy is a set of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great tyres

Posted24 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Great tyres with good grip in the dry. Not been out in the rain on them yet. . Not had a puncture after a couple of hundred miles so far.
These were cheaper elsewhere but Evans matched the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Bought two as replacements, having had the previous set for over 2 years and was starting to get punctures in the rear tyre due to lack of tread. I commute on average 4x per week (14m round trip), through London, in all weathers and can honestly say these are excellent for any condition. I found these smoother than the equivalent armadillos. They're a tight fit on my campag sciroccos, so not looking forward to the knuckle grazing, fingernail bending, foul language first roadside puncture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good but expensive

Posted09 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Decent tyre. 23mm can be difficult to get on & off. Quite dear, but I justified it as I'd had 6 flats (& 6 inners @ £4 each). Overall very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

good value tyre

Posted22 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Hard wearing budget tyre that works well at a high pressure. I get about a year's worth of commuting around London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>