Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.502 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(283 reviews) 282
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 283 reviews
5 Stars
176
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
267 out of 283(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uberland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckenhamRed
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thighsofsteel
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MilkE73

Nice, confidence inspiring road tire!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, confidence and grip!, hard wearing
Cons: might not look "roady" enough for everyone
Nice, confidence inspiring road tire - which is very hard wearing and with better resistance to puncture.
25mm gave me a lot better in terms of road "feel."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bailch321456

Tyre of choice

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After receiving 4 punctures in the first month with the tyres that came with my bike, i changed over to Gatorskins.
I am yet to get a puncture, and grip and speed feel good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
greenrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

good product nice to ride on

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
So far this has been a good tire providing good grip, and comfortable to ride on. I have only done 500 miles on them but I have had no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rowano
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

massive improvement on stock tyres

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought a giant defy 2 in spring and have used the stock tyres throughout summer. I started to notice a few cuts in them though and with autumn approaching I decided to buy some more resilient rubber. I plumped for the gatorskins and am really pleased I did. Tyres went on easily and from the first ride I felt I had more grip on the dry. In wet conditions I never felt confident on the old stock tyres but the difference with the gatorskins on is massive. No more losing the back end on the slippery paving around Cardiff or loss of traction driving out of underpasses. After about 250 miles of daily use in all conditions the weather has had to throw at us there isn't a single nick in the tyres I've noticed either.
Added bonus is the they feel...I don't know how to describe it...but less like riding on wooden tyres, more supple maybe, too.
Would definitely buy these again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
artoo

really good value

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ride 15-20 miles a day. Regular London roads. Never had a single puncture. The tyre rolls very smoothly and decent grip on wet tarmac as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deadlyhifi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good grippy tyre, longevity is a

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not the toughest
Bought these for the commuting bike. They feel good in the wet with them having a bit of light tread to disperse the water but rolls fast.
This was a replacement after a previous one got a big rip in the sidewall from glass on the road. You can certainly get tougher tyres for commuting duties but they weigh much more. It can be bit of a gamble with the state of our roads (Leeds potholes and glass on roads builds character), but that's the risk you take.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Culoid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After getting 4 punctures in two weeks on my daily commute went into the Evans store in Sheffield and was recommended these tyres. Went online read the reviews and ordered online. Price matched too which saved me £20. have been using now for 3 weeks and not one puncture. Great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
caitlynn2003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great grip

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great advice in store and very happy with product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ea6igo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

A tire ive used for 10 years now

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I think I've only ever had 3 punctures in 10 years with gatorskins. Maybe a little heavy , however, for London commuting they're perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomiqLT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Amazing quality tire.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
quality - 10
staff help - 11 !
amazing staff who really knows what they are doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Salamander
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

At the light end of durable

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, fast
I put the Gatorskins on my new Sirrus on Evans' recommendation. They are much lighter than the Schwalbe puncture-resistant tyres that I had on my previous Ridgeback hybrid. The Scwalbes are totally bullet proof. The Gatorskins are lighter, faster and have much lower rolling resistance, but my feeling (so far, happily, unsubstantiated !) is that they will not provide such good puncture defence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weebz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great tyre, quick enough and good against puncture

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Swapping from Specialized Armadillo All Condition tyres and instantly have more speed and less rolling resistance, more control and puncture resistance seems to be top notch, they still look new after a few weeks of commuting (30 miles a day) through London's glass strewn streets, another plus is they also seem more comfortable. The true test will come in the winter, thus far I'd thoroughly recommend them and only wish I'd swapped years ago.
Evans also priced matched, which gave me a good saving and meant I had the tyres right away, great service. (Bought in store).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TORR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Fantastic for commuting

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tough
Cons: Heavy, poor grip
These tyres have mainly been used by me for commuting. They have been great for that. I have just changed them after nearly 4000 miles, mainly on London roads, and I have not had 1 puncture. I almost can't believe how tough these tyres are. I will definitely be buying another set to commute with once my commute starts up again in September. The reason I changed them is they were starting to cut up, and I wanted some faster rolling tyres for the summer.
As mentioned above they aren't the fastest rolling tyres, and are not the lightest either. I had the 23mm wide ones, and they don't feel razor thin. I would say that the grip that they offer is fairly bad though, and cycling in the rain could be difficult, as they slide and slip more than any other tyre I've ever had. You get used to it, but don't take damp corners quickly with them. They also slip going up steep hills.
I would however recommend these tyres to any one wanting a tough tyre that is durable and doesn't suffer punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jammy1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

This product has great features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lightweight and puncture resistance. I would recommend this tyre.
In fact this is the only tyre I would buy for road bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Candersony
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Excellent Tyre in most conditions

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good wet & dry, good puncture resistance
These tyres have served me well for city commuting around London in wet and dry conditions alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A good tyre from a rock solid manufacturer

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Gatorskin from Continental has a good reputation for grip, longevity and resistance to punctures so it's a good purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>