Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.505 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(289 reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 289 reviews
5 Stars
180
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
273 out of 289(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 107 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uberland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

Posted27 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckenhamRed
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

Posted05 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thighsofsteel
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kirks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ideal for winter riding.

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After 1 puncture too many and looking at reviews, so many recommendations make this an essential purchase for winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jammyone
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
not much you can say about a tyre but looks good on the bike and gave me confidence riding on them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBotts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Simply excellent tyres with good grip & a very comfortable ride,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TravisBickle13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Hopefully will make a big difference..........

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: very difficult to put on
.......obviously thicker and more puncture-resistant than standard tyres. I found them very difficult to put on and doing so cost me a couple of inner-tubes. So I really hope they don't puncture in the middle of a long ride during the death of winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jucky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice black rubber!

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Really really round tyre, with nice colour scheme!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slartibartfast
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Reliable.

Posted04 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, not the lightest but good strength to weight ratio
Cons: no cons for my rides.
These are my year round tyres that suit the type of riding that I do, non competitive road cycling and sportive. Fit and forget, except to check tyre pressures .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MilkE73

Nice, confidence inspiring road tire!

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, confidence and grip!, hard wearing
Cons: might not look "roady" enough for everyone
Nice, confidence inspiring road tire - which is very hard wearing and with better resistance to puncture.
25mm gave me a lot better in terms of road "feel."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bailch321456

Tyre of choice

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After receiving 4 punctures in the first month with the tyres that came with my bike, i changed over to Gatorskins.
I am yet to get a puncture, and grip and speed feel good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
greenrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

good product nice to ride on

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
So far this has been a good tire providing good grip, and comfortable to ride on. I have only done 500 miles on them but I have had no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rowano
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

massive improvement on stock tyres

Posted23 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought a giant defy 2 in spring and have used the stock tyres throughout summer. I started to notice a few cuts in them though and with autumn approaching I decided to buy some more resilient rubber. I plumped for the gatorskins and am really pleased I did. Tyres went on easily and from the first ride I felt I had more grip on the dry. In wet conditions I never felt confident on the old stock tyres but the difference with the gatorskins on is massive. No more losing the back end on the slippery paving around Cardiff or loss of traction driving out of underpasses. After about 250 miles of daily use in all conditions the weather has had to throw at us there isn't a single nick in the tyres I've noticed either.
Added bonus is the they feel...I don't know how to describe it...but less like riding on wooden tyres, more supple maybe, too.
Would definitely buy these again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
artoo

really good value

Posted19 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ride 15-20 miles a day. Regular London roads. Never had a single puncture. The tyre rolls very smoothly and decent grip on wet tarmac as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deadlyhifi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good grippy tyre, longevity is a

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not the toughest
Bought these for the commuting bike. They feel good in the wet with them having a bit of light tread to disperse the water but rolls fast.
This was a replacement after a previous one got a big rip in the sidewall from glass on the road. You can certainly get tougher tyres for commuting duties but they weigh much more. It can be bit of a gamble with the state of our roads (Leeds potholes and glass on roads builds character), but that's the risk you take.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Culoid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After getting 4 punctures in two weeks on my daily commute went into the Evans store in Sheffield and was recommended these tyres. Went online read the reviews and ordered online. Price matched too which saved me £20. have been using now for 3 weeks and not one puncture. Great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
caitlynn2003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great grip

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great advice in store and very happy with product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ea6igo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

A tire ive used for 10 years now

Posted13 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I think I've only ever had 3 punctures in 10 years with gatorskins. Maybe a little heavy , however, for London commuting they're perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomiqLT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Amazing quality tire.

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
quality - 10
staff help - 11 !
amazing staff who really knows what they are doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>