Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.498 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(257 reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 257 reviews
5 Stars
161
4 Stars
79
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
242 out of 257(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uberland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckenhamRed
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thighsofsteel
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NorthernType
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Hardy tyre for training on the back roads

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, durable
Cons: slightly heavier than standard tyres
If you like to train on the back country lanes, away from the cars, but with unswept surfaces often strewn by thorns, hedge cuttings, occaisional stones then these are for you.
I reckon they cut punctures caused by the above by a factor of more than 5, based on my dodgy arithmetic. This is a major plus if you have to train in poorer light conditions. Beware however, should you get a set of Gatorkins and somehow manage to get a flat, you'll be needing trusty tyre levers and fingers of steel to prise the lads off the rims: super-tight!
Little bit weighty, so keep them for the training wheels and swap out for wheels shod with GP4000s on event days.
Tyre grip is great. No issues experienced in the wet (over other tyres used in any case).
They look nifty too.
Do yourself a favour, order them over the internet at Evans to save yourself a few quid (I chose to pick up in store). Their prices compare favourably with other major outlets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

GREAT TYRE

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been using this tyre for a couple of years now and I have nothing bad to say about it.
I do about 90miles a week and I've had very few punctures. Great for the price and the service was exceptional. Brought the tyre last minute and they met the online price.
Buy it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spider1010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

No punctures and firmer ride

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I ride daily to work in London and was getting punctures almost every other week. I've had these tyres now for almost two months and they've been puncture free. Also noticed the ride is much firmer. Very happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MuddyBadger

Easy fit, and works

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit, strong, long lasting.
Had these for my road bike, never punctured in over a 1000 miles of riding, in all weather.
Tires wore down on my fixed gear so thought i'd put these on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jimmygordon11
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Solid tyre at a reasonable price. Nice and light offering good protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Perfect all round tyre

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This tyre is the perfect all round tyre for the all round cyclist!
It rolls effortlessly along giving you a smooth responsive ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveisaDon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Just what you need on and off the road...

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
trouble free tyres to save all the hassle of ongoing punctures with no real loss of performance or feel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilkinsun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

It is the best regarding price/quality

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This Continental Gatorskin Duraskin is an amazing tyre that gives you the best protection for the road. It is definitely worth the money .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeilAS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A safe option

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Tyres are a funny thing. I keep wanting to branch out and try others, but they play a fundamental role in keep me rolling and - importantly - upright!
I did branch out and buy a set of extremely puncture resist tyres from another manufacturer. Sure, 9 months later, not a single puncture ... but they had shocking grip, even going over painted yellow/ red lines!
So, back to the Gatorskins. They grip pretty well in the wet, offer OK puncture resistance. Can be tricky to get back on my Campag rims, but that's not the tyres fault. Heavy? Probably, but I've s steel bike, so who cares?
How long do they last? Well I do around 7,000 miles of all weather riding a year (including some pretty rough semi-off road stuff) and get through may be a couple of sets of tyres a year.
In summary, if you love trying new stuff, great, knock yourself out. Failing that the Gatorskins are a solid choice.
P.S. Click 'n' Collect is often cheaper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenfieldr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres at a great price

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These gatorskins replaced a much cheaper set and you can see the difference in quality immediately. Changed tyres as we were experiencing too many punctures and we were entering our first sportive as a family of Four. We passed loads of others on the roadside who had punctured but no such problems for us. Maybe luck but I am sure the tyres helped also. Yet again great service from Evans and with a great price too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great tyre, excellent puncture resistance

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great tyre with a light tyre wall but very tough yet smooth rolling surface. These have to be in the top 5 ultimate tires for puncture resistant. The wired version is slightly tight to get on a rim, but the idea is you should not have to take it off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OW25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, sturdy tyre

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: grip
Sturdy, puncture immune, tyre for an excellent price. Great for commuting (particularly in London, where is is all sorts of debris on the roads), however, be cautious in the wet as there is a lack of tread.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rcstan

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
There are defects in the tyre surface of both tyres-I attach a photo-are they 2nds?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from Evans CyclesBy AndyWeb TeamMarch 27, 2014
Hi rcstan,
The indents in the tyre are not defects, they are wear indicators, like on a car tyre. Take a look a the second image on the product page for more information.
They allow you to see when your tyre is due for a replacement.
When you can no longer see the indents, the rubber is worn down and it's time to replace.
Hope this helps, and happy riding.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kevzep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good protection

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These were a replacement for my previous Gatorskins that were worn out. I had over a year of my daily 10 mile commute puncture free so was happy to go with them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rafa1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

good, nothing special

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Not a product you can say "this is amazing", it just does what it has to do, and so far quite well (1 month after purchase).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Themadster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Swear by theses Tyres

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Just replaced my 1st pair of these after they had done just over 3,500 miles, that included London to Brussels last year, and not one puncture.
I am well pleased, after months & months of telling my friend to get some, he has finally purchased a pair, he got fed up of getting punctures on his last set of a different brand.
Seem to roll ok had no problems in the wet, also at the price I consider it money well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>