Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.512 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(301 reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 301 reviews
5 Stars
188
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
285 out of 301Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uberland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

Posted27 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckenhamRed
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

Posted05 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thighsofsteel
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrkpm
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
brought these before, just got my self a new bicycle, and the first thing i buy is a set of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Labman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great tyres

Posted24 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Great tyres with good grip in the dry. Not been out in the rain on them yet. . Not had a puncture after a couple of hundred miles so far.
These were cheaper elsewhere but Evans matched the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Bought two as replacements, having had the previous set for over 2 years and was starting to get punctures in the rear tyre due to lack of tread. I commute on average 4x per week (14m round trip), through London, in all weathers and can honestly say these are excellent for any condition. I found these smoother than the equivalent armadillos. They're a tight fit on my campag sciroccos, so not looking forward to the knuckle grazing, fingernail bending, foul language first roadside puncture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good but expensive

Posted09 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Decent tyre. 23mm can be difficult to get on & off. Quite dear, but I justified it as I'd had 6 flats (& 6 inners @ £4 each). Overall very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scramble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

good value tyre

Posted22 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Hard wearing budget tyre that works well at a high pressure. I get about a year's worth of commuting around London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trashcanmonkey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The gold standard for city tyres

Posted09 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Lots of guys in my cycle club swear by these. The gold standard for hard wearing puncture resistant tyres, but without much more rolling resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neilo99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Value product

Posted28 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Little experience of buying tyres but this seems to be a good choice. Bought to change my cyclocross into more of a road bike for a triathlon. At £30 they are sensibly priced & do the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclingJohn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyre

Posted12 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Can't fault this tyre. They last for ages and despite using them on potholed filthy roads I haven't had a puncture this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyCommuter24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Posted13 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great for commuting to reduce the likelyhood of punctures. Worth the extra cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Azabm22

Fantastic tyres

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Prior to buying these, 7 puncture in 8 weeks. After buying these 0 punctures in 5 months. Sort of speaks for itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DIJital
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Good reliable commuting tyres

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great tyres, been running them on my CX bike when used as a commuter. Had a couple of side-wall tears in the past year is the only negative but this was generally from some rough riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stardust
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

first impression

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought 2 of these a few weeks ago. Easy to fit which is usually a good sign they have given me no problems on or off road on unmade cycle paths. The ride on the 28mm width is comfortable and after about 800km have no cuts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kirks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ideal for winter riding.

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After 1 puncture too many and looking at reviews, so many recommendations make this an essential purchase for winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jammyone
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
not much you can say about a tyre but looks good on the bike and gave me confidence riding on them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBotts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Simply excellent tyres with good grip & a very comfortable ride,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TravisBickle13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Hopefully will make a big difference..........

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: very difficult to put on
.......obviously thicker and more puncture-resistant than standard tyres. I found them very difficult to put on and doing so cost me a couple of inner-tubes. So I really hope they don't puncture in the middle of a long ride during the death of winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>