Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.505 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(271 reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 271 reviews
5 Stars
170
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
256 out of 271(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
52 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uberland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckenhamRed
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thighsofsteel
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TORR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Fantastic for commuting

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tough
Cons: Heavy, poor grip
These tyres have mainly been used by me for commuting. They have been great for that. I have just changed them after nearly 4000 miles, mainly on London roads, and I have not had 1 puncture. I almost can't believe how tough these tyres are. I will definitely be buying another set to commute with once my commute starts up again in September. The reason I changed them is they were starting to cut up, and I wanted some faster rolling tyres for the summer.
As mentioned above they aren't the fastest rolling tyres, and are not the lightest either. I had the 23mm wide ones, and they don't feel razor thin. I would say that the grip that they offer is fairly bad though, and cycling in the rain could be difficult, as they slide and slip more than any other tyre I've ever had. You get used to it, but don't take damp corners quickly with them. They also slip going up steep hills.
I would however recommend these tyres to any one wanting a tough tyre that is durable and doesn't suffer punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jammy1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

This product has great features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lightweight and puncture resistance. I would recommend this tyre.
In fact this is the only tyre I would buy for road bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Candersony
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Excellent Tyre in most conditions

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good wet & dry, good puncture resistance
These tyres have served me well for city commuting around London in wet and dry conditions alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A good tyre from a rock solid manufacturer

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Gatorskin from Continental has a good reputation for grip, longevity and resistance to punctures so it's a good purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kit274
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Durable

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tried several 28c recently and these are definetly the best of the bunch. Very durable and good resistence to most road debris. Only done about 200 miles so far, but looking good. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WatchoutPlym
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nice tyre, runs quick enough, stood up to Dartmoor roads last week
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eddy90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great all round tyre

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A sturdy tyre with excellent puncture resistance. Slightly trickier to fit than your average tyre but then again you won't be changing it often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scorchiolee666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Best Urban Road Tyre

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
These are great urban tyres, very robust, great grip and they bounce off any rubbish that the London streets put in front of me, since getting these I have not had one puncture where as before it was about one a month
Only downside is that they are hard to get on the wheels and they are slightly heavier but I don't mind paying this price for the protection they give
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woodworker53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Adds to my pace

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, extra pace
I am in training for LeJog in August on my Hybrid bike so wanted to add some speed. Reduced from 32mm tyres to 28mm and shaved 1-2mph off my average speed by doing this. Went for this brand rather than a non-branded option and so far have been very pleased with the results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AbbyT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Faultless

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
After a spell of of punctures, replaced front and rear tyres and haven't had any issues. Nice to be able to ride through the city and out into the countryside without worrying too much about picking up a puncture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guy007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Lightweight and strong

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, puncture resistant
Recommended by guys in the store, so far so good, lightweight and puncture resistant ... having just walked 5 miles with a puncture, it was a no brainer. Staff were great, helpful and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marillion666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Fitted these on my Giant Defy 5 after numerous punctures. Bit stiff to fit, but managed without too much hassle with tyre levers. Does exactly what it says on the tin. Use a regular cycle path which is constantly strewn with debris & broken glass. No problems after a month. Considering the web price against a few innertubes and puncture repairs, it's a no-brainer. Ordered on-line for next day delivery to my local Evans shop. Very happy & can highly recommend them as alternative to the tyres supplied with my bike. For less than £50 for puncture free riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beastymantis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Excellent Tyre

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After only having my last tyres for short of a year, they were completely worn.
I also suffered many punctures, however since switching to the Gatorskins, i've not had a puncture.
I also find that i'm not having to inflate my tyres as often as i used to do.
great smooth comfy ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdc2506
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A durable, sturdy tyre; at a good price.

PostedApril 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I put a Gatorskin on the back wheel of my winter bike in autumn last year and I've been lucky enough to avoid any punctures to date.
I've ridden over 1500 miles, some of which includes riding over rough surfaces on some of the local country lanes and there is still plenty of life left in the tyre.
I can imagine getting over 2,500 miles out of the tyre before it needs replacing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NorthernType
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Hardy tyre for training on the back roads

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, durable
Cons: slightly heavier than standard tyres
If you like to train on the back country lanes, away from the cars, but with unswept surfaces often strewn by thorns, hedge cuttings, occaisional stones then these are for you.
I reckon they cut punctures caused by the above by a factor of more than 5, based on my dodgy arithmetic. This is a major plus if you have to train in poorer light conditions. Beware however, should you get a set of Gatorkins and somehow manage to get a flat, you'll be needing trusty tyre levers and fingers of steel to prise the lads off the rims: super-tight!
Little bit weighty, so keep them for the training wheels and swap out for wheels shod with GP4000s on event days.
Tyre grip is great. No issues experienced in the wet (over other tyres used in any case).
They look nifty too.
Do yourself a favour, order them over the internet at Evans to save yourself a few quid (I chose to pick up in store). Their prices compare favourably with other major outlets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

GREAT TYRE

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been using this tyre for a couple of years now and I have nothing bad to say about it.
I do about 90miles a week and I've had very few punctures. Great for the price and the service was exceptional. Brought the tyre last minute and they met the online price.
Buy it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>