Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. You'll know when one of Continental's tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.504 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(276 reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 276 reviews
5 Stars
172
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
261 out of 276(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uberland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tires

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have these on my Cannondale CAADX. Switched it from an CX to proper road bike perfectly. No punctures yet and very confident cornering at speed. Found them easy to get on the wheels too.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had the tyres on about 4 weeks now - I was getting very frustrated with punctures every other day on the commute during winter, so went for these tyres. So far no puncture, and they don't feel any harder as a result of their "strength".
Wet weather grip is never going to be amazing, but they seem fine also!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckenhamRed
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced the tyres that were supplied by on my bike because I was bored with repairing punctures.
Four weeks and not a puncture! The first time I have gone so long without puncture damage.
A top-rate purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thighsofsteel
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant tyres

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Seriously great tyres... handle the potholes of North London and the City really well. Used every day for months now without the hint of a puncture. Still feel fast too.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
caitlynn2003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great grip

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great advice in store and very happy with product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ea6igo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

A tire ive used for 10 years now

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I think I've only ever had 3 punctures in 10 years with gatorskins. Maybe a little heavy , however, for London commuting they're perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomiqLT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Amazing quality tire.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
quality - 10
staff help - 11 !
amazing staff who really knows what they are doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Salamander
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

At the light end of durable

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, fast
I put the Gatorskins on my new Sirrus on Evans' recommendation. They are much lighter than the Schwalbe puncture-resistant tyres that I had on my previous Ridgeback hybrid. The Scwalbes are totally bullet proof. The Gatorskins are lighter, faster and have much lower rolling resistance, but my feeling (so far, happily, unsubstantiated !) is that they will not provide such good puncture defence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weebz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great tyre, quick enough and good against puncture

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Swapping from Specialized Armadillo All Condition tyres and instantly have more speed and less rolling resistance, more control and puncture resistance seems to be top notch, they still look new after a few weeks of commuting (30 miles a day) through London's glass strewn streets, another plus is they also seem more comfortable. The true test will come in the winter, thus far I'd thoroughly recommend them and only wish I'd swapped years ago.
Evans also priced matched, which gave me a good saving and meant I had the tyres right away, great service. (Bought in store).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TORR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Fantastic for commuting

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tough
Cons: Heavy, poor grip
These tyres have mainly been used by me for commuting. They have been great for that. I have just changed them after nearly 4000 miles, mainly on London roads, and I have not had 1 puncture. I almost can't believe how tough these tyres are. I will definitely be buying another set to commute with once my commute starts up again in September. The reason I changed them is they were starting to cut up, and I wanted some faster rolling tyres for the summer.
As mentioned above they aren't the fastest rolling tyres, and are not the lightest either. I had the 23mm wide ones, and they don't feel razor thin. I would say that the grip that they offer is fairly bad though, and cycling in the rain could be difficult, as they slide and slip more than any other tyre I've ever had. You get used to it, but don't take damp corners quickly with them. They also slip going up steep hills.
I would however recommend these tyres to any one wanting a tough tyre that is durable and doesn't suffer punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jammy1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

This product has great features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lightweight and puncture resistance. I would recommend this tyre.
In fact this is the only tyre I would buy for road bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Candersony
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Excellent Tyre in most conditions

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good wet & dry, good puncture resistance
These tyres have served me well for city commuting around London in wet and dry conditions alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A good tyre from a rock solid manufacturer

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Gatorskin from Continental has a good reputation for grip, longevity and resistance to punctures so it's a good purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kit274
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Durable

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tried several 28c recently and these are definetly the best of the bunch. Very durable and good resistence to most road debris. Only done about 200 miles so far, but looking good. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WatchoutPlym
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nice tyre, runs quick enough, stood up to Dartmoor roads last week
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eddy90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great all round tyre

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A sturdy tyre with excellent puncture resistance. Slightly trickier to fit than your average tyre but then again you won't be changing it often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scorchiolee666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Best Urban Road Tyre

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
These are great urban tyres, very robust, great grip and they bounce off any rubbish that the London streets put in front of me, since getting these I have not had one puncture where as before it was about one a month
Only downside is that they are hard to get on the wheels and they are slightly heavier but I don't mind paying this price for the protection they give
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woodworker53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Adds to my pace

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, extra pace
I am in training for LeJog in August on my Hybrid bike so wanted to add some speed. Reduced from 32mm tyres to 28mm and shaved 1-2mph off my average speed by doing this. Went for this brand rather than a non-branded option and so far have been very pleased with the results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AbbyT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Faultless

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
After a spell of of punctures, replaced front and rear tyres and haven't had any issues. Nice to be able to ride through the city and out into the countryside without worrying too much about picking up a puncture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guy007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Lightweight and strong

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, puncture resistant
Recommended by guys in the store, so far so good, lightweight and puncture resistant ... having just walked 5 miles with a puncture, it was a no brainer. Staff were great, helpful and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>