Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre

Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre

Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Review 1 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IG36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Superb tyre - very tough

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Have used these tyres for years and they work exceptionally well. I have ridden over glass bottles and they still seem fine.
Good grip - very tough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davey84
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Great tires

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no choice of colours
These came on my 7.5fx in red I have done over 4000 miles on them and had only 2 puntures 1 on each tire. I have to order another tire as some of the rubber on the black line has peeled off the back tire which seems quite common on these but thats after doing few 1000 miles at least. I would still recommend these they are a tough tire. The only downside for me is I cant get them in red.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nate2021
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love them

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these tires for my old road bike, instantaneous difference. They made a huge difference and I have already logged some miles on these tires. They work as advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mike96
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not bad but very hard to fit

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: very hard to fit, on the small size for its spec (28c)
A very tight fit, as are lots of road tyres, but this one (28c) was also very reluctant indeed to sit properly on my standard Giant rim. I spent an hour trying to fit it properly, and then rode to a bike shop with the regular thudding of an ill-seated tyre accompanying me all the way.
It took the extremely skilled and helpful proprietor about 15 minutes of pulling around with a gripping tool to eventually persuade the thing to sit properly.
Once seated properly, it rolls pretty well and does not feel uncomfortable, though I suspect that the rubber will turn out not to be very grippy. I wished I'd gone for the 32c size as the 28c is definitely on the small side for its spec.
If it proves puncture and wear-resistant over time, it will prove to have been a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kestrel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Tough city tyre

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tough
Cons: Heavy
I have a set of these that came with my trek hybrid about 4 years ago. Every time my tyres give up on my other bikes I swap these on temporarily as a back up set. However I think I'm doing them a bit of injustice. They are heavyish, they do create a little more work ...but they are tough. They still look pretty much the same as when I got them with no cuts and I haven't had a puncture with these. I do realise that you can have a series of unfortunate incidents with tyres that you base your opinion on ...but for now my opinion is that these are tough, great for city riding, commuting and even a bit of off-road (apart from the slight lack of grip in case of the latter). In my quest for speed however I will still change them but expect they'll be back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KrazeeK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Tyre at Good Price!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this tyre for Lands End to John O'Groats for my Hybrid and for the cost they were pretty good. Only 1 puncture in 1055miles and given the size of the shard of glass that went through the tyre really couldnt be blamed! Only minor detail was that they were a little slippery in the wet but really nothing to cause too much concern!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zippyreed

Tyres

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought these 2 tyres, great value. Delivered to the door great service. The tyres are vey durable and are of good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tintin1957
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic value / Fantastic tyre

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These tyres roll well and are bombproof.I do a lot of miles per week and punctures seem to be a thing of the past with these,highly recommend them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GaleB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good cheap option

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
A good budget tyre option. Tyres are a fairly basic with minimal tread and do need to be pumped up to quite a high PSI otherwise they will feel very soft and flat making for an uncomfortable ride. But, especially at the online price, they are very good value and do a decent enough job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, grippy
I ordered these online for a great price and was able to collect at my local store, so I can't fault the service from Evans.
I really like these tyres - particularly noticable is the improved grip on cornering - those little raised strips on the edges of the tyres really hold on to the roads and make the ride really secure. I'm at danger of becoming over-confident perhaps!?
They're definitely more weighty compared to my previous tyres, and I've had no punctures yet.
So far so good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tyred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds CyclePoint

Puncture resistant, durable and cheap.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been using these for a while now. For commuting they're excellent and not too heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikerBonnie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

hardwearing

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, puncture proof
Just done 300 miles on this tyre as part of a cycling holiday from Ilfracombe all the way along the devonshire and dorset coast to chichester and it's held up perfectly. An absolute bargain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roadrage
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent puncture protection

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Can't fault these for puncture protection. I do over 7,000 kms a year between my daily commute through Dublin city and leisure cycling - all year round and in all weather. I have used these for the last two years without a single puncture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim33

Appears well made and grips and rides well

PostedJune 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Grips and rides well and is fairly wlighteight but appears to be well made. Its too early to tell on puncture resistance but no problems after first 200 miles on a mixture of roads and tracks whilst commuting and touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricardo46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres

PostedJune 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought the 700 x28 version to replace the original 700 x 35 tyres on my hybrid bike. Easy to fit even though a little tighter than the old tyres & seem much faster but ride is more firm now so not as comfortable as the wider tyres i replaced which is to be expected. High quality tyre no punctures so far but only done 30 miles on them. Great price and service from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Qman
from Wiltshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Still up!

PostedApril 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
After many punctures and spoilt rides as a result of Wiltshires woeful roads these have stayed up for 200 + miles now. Previously I was averaging a puncture every 80 miles. Compared with less puncture resistant tyres the Harcase tyres ride well, not quite as grippy, rolling resistance is a tad higher, yet to test them in the wet. Best of all my backside stays in the saddle rather than mooning at passing motorists while I fix another puncture. Ride 'em at 110psi (67Kg rider). Good and prompt service from Evans Cycles.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
theclaw
from manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use these tyres to commute to work 20 miles a day 5 days a week, it does cut down the punchers, excellent tyre wet or dry conditions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeBandit
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

If Carlsberg made tyres

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are far the best tyres. I have had these tyres now for three years so they have been giving a good old test on the streets of London. I have never punctured on them and my friends who have also had them have given them the same glowing review. Maybe the only down side to them is getting them on to rims. They are a nightmare and you will be cursing and swearing by the end but its well worth it and of course you will never need to take them off again. The main rubber strip on my rear has finally stared to peel but more likely to be down to me skidding the bike than the lack of quality in the rubber.
Overall if you live in the city and you have a bike there is only one choice.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
johnnycee
from Edinburgh
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seriously good tyre

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
These tyres came with my Trek 7.3FX. They lasted 3 years without a puncture. So when finally I had to change them, it was a no-brainer. Best price was from Evans.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kiwicyclist

Decent

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
New tyre, good grip, nice and sturdy.
Wheel is definitely bit heavier than before. Not sure if my technique is incorrect but found it bit hard to fit the tyre initially.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>